We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$138
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$123
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
174
14
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet d'amourb bacacia baylake taupobay barguest kitchennew zealandhoneymoon suitethe main housepicture windowdual showerluxury cottagesuperb propertygorgeous homeself contained cottagegas fireking suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 193 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went for our honeymoon in early October and it was truly great. The wife & I hadn't ever stayed at a B&B but this was just what we needed. Ready to chat and recommend things around town when we needed and more than happy to leave us to ourselves when we wanted it too. The food was absolutely impeccable (including some of the best orange juice I've ever tasted).

Tauhara Sunrise has sweeping views of the lake and town. They were even kind enough to upgrade us to the honeymoon suite, it would've been worth the extra expense for the private cottage, complete with fireplace, tub and amazing views.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite is worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieBBstaralliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Becky, our hostess, knows how to run a B & B and then some! We had a beautiful room in a lovely home. It was so nice to be able to unpack all our bags and have a closet that had a place for everything. We finally got "sorted out" after a two week adventure because of all the space in a very elegant home. Becky build her home with guests in mind so everything was to perfection as she thought of everything that one could want. We were treated to a beautiful view at our every turn from high on the hill overlooking Lake Taupo. Oh my gosh what a lovely sight. Every evening was begun with a meeting of the residents and hosts and we enjoyed many laughs and lively conversation. Becky had two gals staying and helping out who readily joined in the fun of celebrating my husbands birthday. Thanks to Michelle and Rose we had a robust rendition of "Happy Birthday" and Michelle even sang the song in her native Swedish. Ok, that was something special! Our breakfasts were amazing. Where else in New Zealand could you have the perfect Tex Mex eggs and salsa I can't imagine. A marvelous time in a beautiful, quiet and FUN home with Becky, our "hostess with the mostest". You can't go wrong here. Great memories and missing this home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverMomasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The two of us came down from Auckland for the weekend to do the Taupo Cycle Challenge. Tauhara sunrise turned out to be what JAFAs need. Comfortable beds, good food, quiet surroundings with a great view and a very pleasant "Happy Hour". Great restaurant nearby too within walking distance. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NnMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The best B & B we have ever stayed in – though B & B does not do it justice. This judgment is based on the accommodation, the quality of the food and its wonderful hosts – Becky and Rob. Tauhara Sunrise overlooks Lake Taupo and has incredible views of the lake. Our bedroom was a generous size complete with a large bathroom. Our room had a large window with views of the lake and was attached to a guest kitchen with complimentary beer and wine in the fridge. The room was spotless and everything from the linen to the toiletries was top class. Breakfast was excellent. Becky is a great cook and offers a range of choices that you do not get in 5-star hotels. Complimentary early evening drinks and food were a great way to get to know our hosts and our fellow guests better and to get ideas for activities in and around the area. The variety of food prepared by Becky, all of it tasting superb, and the generosity of Rob in topping up our glasses was an integral part of this wonderfully welcoming experience with good conversation and lots of laughs. Rob and Becky make every effort to ensure you are well looked after and get the best from your stay. They offer lots of advice on things to do based on your own preferences but also suggest alternatives. There is complimentary Internet access and they will make calls to check availability, prices and to make bookings. There is a reasonable place to eat within walking distance. Tauhara Sunrise offers 5-star+ quality but with hosts who make you feel so much at home that you simply do not want to leave. This is a real gem – we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013CymruCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I stopped over for a couple of nights whilst travelling south from Auckland to Hawke's Bay.

We're so pleased we stayed with Rob and Becky rather than picking a hotel in Rotorua. As well as the friendly welcome and daily pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, they were able to give us some insightful recommendations on things to doing the local area.

We stayed in the side cottage which had its own access and superb view across lake Taupo to Mount Tauhara. It was all very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. My wife says they had the softest bathrobes she's ever tried!

Acacia Bay itself is quiet (just a shop and lovely local restaurant) so travelling with your car is essential.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews