We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
Booking.com
$224
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
ZenHotels.com
$247
$214
View deal
SAVE $33
Hotels.com$225
Priceline$224
FindHotel$247
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,712)
Filter reviews
2,712 results
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room lake taupo junior suite one bedroom apartment full kitchen an upgrade tennis courts new zealand the ground floor spa pool great room spacious room hot pools town centre bistro lago heritage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 2,712 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

We had an amazing one bedroom apartment overlooking the lake. Nice and new room and very good size with a great deck overlooking the lake. Room service was really good. Great gym facilities, pool and spa. DeBretts hot pools right next door. Will definitely eat back.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JimmyJam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear JimmyJam100

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to read how impressed you were with your spacious one bedroom apartment and how you enjoyed the stunning views of the lake from the deck. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed using our on-site pool and gym facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo again soon.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

It really pays off to travel during the low season. We got an unbelievable rate, which was so inexpensive that we paid for an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment which is huge. We are Diamond members this year and taking full advantage. See pic for benefits.

Staff is warm and accommodating. Manager recommended activities that were perfect for us. Full breakfast includes made to order eggs. I did a smoked salmon Eggs Benedict not on menu. We have seen less than 10-15 other guests.
We did not book a car since driving on left side problematic. Taupo taxis have been plentiful and drivers friendly and gave local recommendation.

One bedroom has washer dryer which was key to our comfort for rest of trip. Full kitchen which we used sparingly since breakfast at hotel included and Taupo restaurants were good.

Hotel is not close to town as up on hill for view. Taxi into town is $18 NZD.

Our experience was top notch primarily due to low season. We heard summer is 10x as busy. Yes it is cold but still beautiful.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travel4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear travel4two

It is fantastic to read that you had an amazing stay with us recently and how impressed you were with your one bedroom apartment. It is also great to hear how you how you found our team warm, accommodating and helpful with recommending activities during your visit, we here at Hilton Lake Taupo take pride in offering a high level of service and it gives me great pleasure when it is recognised.

Thank you for posting about your experience on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

Although they mixed up our booking, they course corrected and refunded us the extra bed. They also misinformed us that breakfast ended at 11am, not 10am as it did (on weekdays!) and after our planned sleep-in then had to rush brekky...but the staff made up for it. It was a little expensive considering there are very nice places much closer to the the lake (we stayed in one) and this was far from the lake with obstructed views. Very high quality rooms though - impeccable! And great that it was next door to DeBretts hot pools. It had a hot pool of its own - very nice.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Dear Wayne F

I am sorry to hear that your booking was mixed up and that you were misinformed about the breakfast times. Breakfast ends at 10am Monday-Friday and at 11am on Saturday and Sunday. It is great to read that you rated the rooms as impeccable, we are proud of our stunning rooms that offer our guests luxury and comfort amongst our beautiful premises

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Very clean and friendly - bed was comfy. Pillows were average and all the same so no real choice if one wasn't right. The staff are very helpful. The pool was great, my daughter loved it and it's great having the option of the restaurant on site.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank KateandCoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Dear KateandCoNZ

It is fantastic to read that you rated our property very clean and the team friendly, it is also great to hear how your daughter enjoyed using the pool facilities. I have noted your observations about the pillows, we do have other pillow options available upon request, so if you do stay with us again in the future please speak with reception about your preference.

Thank you for posting about your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Lake Taupo on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. Overall the room was pleasant . Great bathtub. Our room had a shared balcony, which has the potential for possible awkward situations. For example I usually enjoy having a nice cup of coffee or tea in the morning on the balcony without having to worry about modesty or strangers. Admittedly this caused no issue during our visit as it was far too cold to use the balcony comfortably. But be warned if this is something that concerns you. They offer a heated pool, hot tub, sauna, and steam room which are all suited to use in the winter which is a plus. My husband didnt have the best sleep but that was more due to noisey neighbors than anything. As a whole experience we would likely be happy to visit this location for future stays.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank danigrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

Dear danigrll

Thank you for posting your review after your weekend getaway.

It is pleasing to read that you found your room pleasant and how you were impressed with the bathtub, it is also great to hear that you enjoyed using the pool facilities. Not all of our rooms have shared balconies so please do contact the hotel directly should you decide to stay with us again and we will allocate you a room more to your liking.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews