We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
Booking.com
$224
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
ZenHotels.com
$247
$214
View deal
SAVE $33
Priceline$224
Hotels.com$225
FindHotel$247
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,712)
Filter reviews
2,712 results
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room lake taupo junior suite one bedroom apartment full kitchen an upgrade tennis courts new zealand the ground floor spa pool great room spacious room hot pools town centre bistro lago heritage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 2,712 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Very clean and friendly - bed was comfy. Pillows were average and all the same so no real choice if one wasn't right. The staff are very helpful. The pool was great, my daughter loved it and it's great having the option of the restaurant on site.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank KateandCoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Dear KateandCoNZ

It is fantastic to read that you rated our property very clean and the team friendly, it is also great to hear how your daughter enjoyed using the pool facilities. I have noted your observations about the pillows, we do have other pillow options available upon request, so if you do stay with us again in the future please speak with reception about your preference.

Thank you for posting about your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Lake Taupo on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. Overall the room was pleasant . Great bathtub. Our room had a shared balcony, which has the potential for possible awkward situations. For example I usually enjoy having a nice cup of coffee or tea in the morning on the balcony without having to worry about modesty or strangers. Admittedly this caused no issue during our visit as it was far too cold to use the balcony comfortably. But be warned if this is something that concerns you. They offer a heated pool, hot tub, sauna, and steam room which are all suited to use in the winter which is a plus. My husband didnt have the best sleep but that was more due to noisey neighbors than anything. As a whole experience we would likely be happy to visit this location for future stays.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank danigrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

Dear danigrll

Thank you for posting your review after your weekend getaway.

It is pleasing to read that you found your room pleasant and how you were impressed with the bathtub, it is also great to hear that you enjoyed using the pool facilities. Not all of our rooms have shared balconies so please do contact the hotel directly should you decide to stay with us again and we will allocate you a room more to your liking.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We enjoyed our stay at he Hilton at Taupo. Only one minor criticism was upon checkin we were told we had booked a standard room and that room was apparently at the back of the hotel with no views. We were Hilton Honors customers and felt, as the hotel was obviously not busy, that we should have got the best room available.
Other than that small concern, we can recommend this hotel, although it is some distance from the town center.

Room tip: Look for lake facing rooms.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaltraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Dear Globaltraveller79,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay with us, and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your loyalty as Hilton Honors members and are thrilled that you chose to stay with us while visiting Taupo. Please accept my apologies that the room was not to your liking. We do offer a variety of room types with different views and locations within the hotel. If you have a chance, please reach out to me at dominic.mastromatteo@hilton.com with details of your booking so that I can update your Honors profile with your room location preferences. This will allow us to ensure that we have a room more to your liking available on your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Dominic Mastromatteo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

This hotel was very nice. Our room was a great size with a comfy bed. The heated outdoor pool and spa were amazing on a cold winter’s evening. The breakfast buffet is great and we also visited the restaurant one evening for dinner and the food was incredible! Great location too if you have a car. Probably too far to walk into town without one.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gera_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Gera_312

Thank you for sharing your wonderful detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to read how you enjoyed using our pool facilities and that you found your room spacious and comfortable. I was also proud to read that you had a fantastic experience dining at our on-site restaurant Bistro Lago.

Thanks again for you review, we look forward to seeing you again on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Hotel was very clean, decoy amazing quality. Excellent service by staff in restaurant. Breakfast is exceptional and dinner was great. We had a relaxing 4 nights. Our bed was very comfortable best 4 nights sleep!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 487ginac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Gina C

It is fantastic to read how you had a relaxing four night stay with us and how impressed your were dining experiences at our on-site restaurant Bistro Lago. Yes, our renowned Hilton beds and bedding are fabulous and most definitely one of the bonuses of staying at a Hilton Hotel Worldwide.

Thank you very much for sharing your review and we hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to the property again in the future.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews