We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
Hotels.com
$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/22/21
ZenHotels.com
$247
$215
View deal
SAVE $32
Booking.com$224
Priceline$224
FindHotel$247
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,712)
Filter reviews
2,712 results
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,573
702
274
113
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room lake taupo junior suite one bedroom apartment full kitchen an upgrade tennis courts new zealand the ground floor spa pool great room spacious room hot pools town centre bistro lago heritage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 2,712 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

This hotel was very nice. Our room was a great size with a comfy bed. The heated outdoor pool and spa were amazing on a cold winter’s evening. The breakfast buffet is great and we also visited the restaurant one evening for dinner and the food was incredible! Great location too if you have a car. Probably too far to walk into town without one.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gera_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Gera_312

Thank you for sharing your wonderful detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to read how you enjoyed using our pool facilities and that you found your room spacious and comfortable. I was also proud to read that you had a fantastic experience dining at our on-site restaurant Bistro Lago.

Thanks again for you review, we look forward to seeing you again on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Hotel was very clean, decoy amazing quality. Excellent service by staff in restaurant. Breakfast is exceptional and dinner was great. We had a relaxing 4 nights. Our bed was very comfortable best 4 nights sleep!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 487ginac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Gina C

It is fantastic to read how you had a relaxing four night stay with us and how impressed your were dining experiences at our on-site restaurant Bistro Lago. Yes, our renowned Hilton beds and bedding are fabulous and most definitely one of the bonuses of staying at a Hilton Hotel Worldwide.

Thank you very much for sharing your review and we hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to the property again in the future.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately I had only one night at The Hilton Lake Taupo.

I find the rooms absolutely perfect woth the large floor space, the bathroom, with a large bath and shower seperate and the Crabtree and Evenlyn ammenties are one of my favorites.

One of the great points about this property is that if you are a Honors Member (which anyone can be) - it allows you to choose your room up to 24 hours before tou check in.

I always make sure I am next to the pool entry. Using the spa twice evening and morning was better than paying for a local pool. Was noce and hot and the poolside area so clean and well stocked with towels.

I had the pleasure of dining at the restaurant and the steak meal was perfect and a very large steak. It is what you woild expect from such a delighful restaurant, well worth the money.

I can't speak highly enough of this property and location, is my only go to hotel to stay in Lake Taupo.

The staff as always are bang on with the Hilton service and ever so friendly.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank justinaucklandnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Dear justinaucklandnz

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments..

It is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful one night stay with us and that you enjoyed using the pool facilities and how impressed your were with your dining experience at our on-site restaurant Bistro Lago.

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton Lake Taupo, we look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

I was given a room in the 'historic' part of the hotel. Nicely redecorated at some stage, but the air-conditioning is so noisy even on lowest setting it is implssible to sleep with it on, and the room is very stuffy with it off. My room overlooked the bar entrance, and so all the voices from everyone leaving the bar just come straight into the room. Way too noisy to go to sleep. The balcony was a shared balcony with the room next door, so no privacy unless you completely close the curtains. Overall, I will never accept a room in the historic part of the hotel again. Way overpriced for what it is.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank JamesPilot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear JamesPilot007

I am sorry to hear that you were underwelmed with your stay and that you found the air conditioning noisy in your guest room. I have since shared your feedback with our Maintenance Manager who will look at the air conditioning unit. I welcome your feedback as it there are areas of the hotel that require improvement it is important we are made aware of them to ensure better guest experiences.

If you consider staying with us again please do contact the hotel directly and we will allocate you a room which you would find more satisfactory.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at The Taupo Hilton. My Husband and I along with 2 kids (8 and 10) stayed in a 1 Bedroom Apartment overlooking the lake. Plenty of room for us all (kids slept on the pull out sofa bed...their only gripe being the duvet was quite small and they fought over it, which was a fair call!) Large kitchen equipped well enough to enable us to cook 2 of the nights as well as breakfast daily (perhaps a sharper knife and a few more plates would not go amiss...but nothing to get upset about!) Friendly attentive staff, who discounted the underground covered parking for us when unable to offer the usual bike storage (it was school holidays...) this enabled us to lock the bikes up behind our car. From housekeeping to front reception to groundstaff, everyone made us feel welcome. We did not use the restaurant or bar facilities so cant comment on them. The pool and spa were a hit with the kids (although pool they felt a little cool due to the nasty weather we had!) Also a 5 min walk to the hot pools and hydro slides of debretts which was a huge hit with the kids. All and all a great stay and would have no hesitation in staying again!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Dear c73

I am delighted to read that you and your family had a wonderful three night stay with us during the school holidays. As you mentioned, the apartments are spacious and very well equipped for a family and Taupo DeBretts Thermal Spa Resort is conveniently located next to us which is very popular.

I was also proud to read through your comments about our team, we here at Hilton Lake Taupo take pride in offering a high level of service and it is fantastic when that is recognised.

Thank you for posting your review, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the property again in the future.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews