We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Lake Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$482
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$134
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$141
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,314)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveler rating
1,382
597
225
81
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,382
597
225
81
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roompillow menulake tauponew wingjunior suitebeautiful hotelone bedroom apartmentwasher and dryerfull kitchentennis courtsan upgradenew zealandthe ground floorhot springsgreat roomspa poolhot pools
Filter
Updating list...
1,558 - 1,563 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Went with 7 of my girlfriends for a night. Gorgeous room, amazing view! Rooms were very clean. Loved the pool and jacuzzi! Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 24antheaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear 24antheaw

Thank you for posting your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, It is delightful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our pool and spa facilities and that the team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Lake Taupo Hilton. Upgraded to a Lake view for $45 a night upon arriving, which I felt was reasonable. Awesome pool / Spa / Sauna facilities plus very helpful staff. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear David W

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor, it is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the facilities and staff to be awesome. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at Taupo Hilton very much. Our room was modern, clean, well furnished and very comfortable with a fabulous view overlooking the lake. The restaurant sevice and food and pool area were excellent.
A few minor adjustments would make it perfect.
The WiFi system needs to be updated so that it will cater easily for today’s trend for multiple devices especially as guests are charged extra for this usage. WiFi is free at reception, that is not so convenient to use only there.
Our room was on the third floor and one morning the lift was not working, we could not find a fire exit/stairs to go downstairs but fortunately I found a staff member who was cleaning a nearby room and she let us go through that room to an outside staircase. Not sure what we would have done if she was not there at the time.
Reception really needs to have a separate concierge at the front desk staff to assist guests who need local information. The checking in and checking out process needs to be handed by separate staff to those who handed local inquires. This would avoid lengthy delays incurred while staff discuss the days proposed outings with other guests. A restroom nearby to Reception would be handy too. Overall a very pleasant stay and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: book a room with a view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear annagram09,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to appreciate the beautiful view from your modern, clean room. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your dining experience and I appreciate you additional feedback regarding our internet and hotel layout.

I hope that we will be seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and paid a small additional amount when booking to upgrade to a suite. Our room was spacious and the bathroom had a big free standing bath tub as well as a rain shower. We also had a big outside balcony. The in room toiletries were excellent - amongst the best I've had. On our first night we arrived quite late & ordered room service for dinner. The food was served in good time and was pretty good for room service! On the last evening we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food here was great. We also had breakfast in the restaurant and again this was really good. The pool and sun area is well maintained & not too busy. A couple if drawbacks would be that our suite was facing the back of the hotel so no view & the cost if daily wi if is expensive! Given that most other hotels we stayed at provided wifi for free we were surprised that in room wifi was $15.95 per day!!!!

Room Tip: It's worth up grading to a suite
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear HonestReview86,

Many thanks for your recent post on TripAdvisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our wonderful heritage wing rooms. Our toiletries are specially made for Hilton by Peter Thomas Roth and are always enjoyed by our guests. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences and I appreciate the additional feedback regarding our internet.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hilton Lake Taupo. The location is perfect, as it is nestled in an intimate spot away from the typical "tourist" congestion. The staff was very cordial and professional. My room was so spacious with a cozy and elegant feel to it. You feel so comfortable and "at home" that you could sit on your balcony in your hotel robe. I had dinner twice at the restaurant in the hotel, and the food was very good. They have bikes that you can rent, and trails that are great for walking as well. You can walk past the hotel and enjoy the hot springs, which was filled with too many people and screaming children for my taste, so if you want a peaceful hot spring experience, you can pay for a private space. The private is in a small space in doors with an open ceiling, but it is much more quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: I recommend this Hiton location to people that want romance and appreciate the outdoors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineMT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear ElaineMT12,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us, it is fantastic to see that you found the staff to be cordial and your room to be spacious and cozy. We hope to see you back at the hotel enjoying the attractions that Taupo has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews