We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, reasonably priced”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and paid a small additional amount when booking to upgrade to a suite. Our room was spacious and the bathroom had a big free standing bath tub as well as a rain shower. We also had a big outside balcony. The in room toiletries were excellent - amongst the best I've had. On our first night we arrived quite late & ordered room service for dinner. The food was served in good time and was pretty good for room service! On the last evening we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food here was great. We also had breakfast in the restaurant and again this was really good. The pool and sun area is well maintained & not too busy. A couple if drawbacks would be that our suite was facing the back of the hotel so no view & the cost if daily wi if is expensive! Given that most other hotels we stayed at provided wifi for free we were surprised that in room wifi was $15.95 per day!!!!

Room Tip: It's worth up grading to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear HonestReview86,

Many thanks for your recent post on TripAdvisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our wonderful heritage wing rooms. Our toiletries are specially made for Hilton by Peter Thomas Roth and are always enjoyed by our guests. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences and I appreciate the additional feedback regarding our internet.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hilton Lake Taupo. The location is perfect, as it is nestled in an intimate spot away from the typical "tourist" congestion. The staff was very cordial and professional. My room was so spacious with a cozy and elegant feel to it. You feel so comfortable and "at home" that you could sit on your balcony in your hotel robe. I had dinner twice at the restaurant in the hotel, and the food was very good. They have bikes that you can rent, and trails that are great for walking as well. You can walk past the hotel and enjoy the hot springs, which was filled with too many people and screaming children for my taste, so if you want a peaceful hot spring experience, you can pay for a private space. The private is in a small space in doors with an open ceiling, but it is much more quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: I recommend this Hiton location to people that want romance and appreciate the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineMT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear ElaineMT12,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us, it is fantastic to see that you found the staff to be cordial and your room to be spacious and cozy. We hope to see you back at the hotel enjoying the attractions that Taupo has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We decided to go top shelf for the weekend, which meant staying at a hotel we normally wouldn't. What a great decision, as from arrival to departure we were treated to what top class hotel should be.
The staff member Umesh was a perfect host, and as first timers to a Hilton was very helpful and took time to explain in detail what was available. We even got an upgrade to a slightly better positioned room.
The room itself was impossible to fault, and the restaurant was superb. If you stay here you have to try the restaurant, the food, service, view and ambience were perfect.

Room Tip: Room facing the lake definitely the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear MF100,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on trip advisor. Your feedback is important to us and I am thrilled to hear that Umesh and the team looked after you during your stay. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant and we hope to see you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our second two-day stay at the Hilton Taupo. This hotel has great facilities - sauna/steam room/pool and exercise room.
Did not use the on-site restaurant this time but lots of people did.

It is close to a thermal valley and the pool and hot pools and spa there are great too.

The suites themselves are great and housekeeping excellent.
Only one downside - the reception staff try to check in and check out guests as well as discussing and making bookings for local attractions. This does not work well - when we tried to make a booking we had to wait for checking out guests - when we tried to check out we had to wait for guests making a booking! They need a dedicated concierge....

Room Tip: For a great view over Lake Taupo get a room on the South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear burtfp,

Many thanks for your recent trip advisor post. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and not only got to enjoy our lovely recreational facilities but also got to experience Debretts thermal Pools next door. Thank you for your additional feedback regarding our concierge service, I will be passing this on to our front Office Manager.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Lake Taupo for three nights on our trip to New Zealand.
The hotel has a nice location with a great view of the Lake.

We stayed in one of the suites in the 'old' (but fully/modernly refurbished) wing of the hotel. There was a huge King bed, flatscreen tv, balcony and a bathroom with bathtub and separate rainshower. The hotel and surrounding area is very quiet, perfect for a good nights sleep.

On our second night, we came back from dinner to discover there was a private function in the garden right below our room, with the bbq set up right under our window, resulting in the whole room smelling of bbq'd meat. The manager on duty was kind enough to move us to a new room. As there were no suites available anymore, we were upgraded to the three bedroom apartment in the 'new' building of the hotel!

This apartment had full lake and thermal valley views, three bedrooms, three bathrooms, a huge living room, dining room, kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine and dryer! Definitely the place to stay if you are traveling with a bigger group.

The pool and spa pool are clean and of a good temperature. Towels are provided poolside.

Breakfast is extensive, with a large selection of hot and continental items.

The only downside to the hotel is that you have to pay for wifi!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear gg-kfirina

Thank you for posting your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. Our Heritage Wing has a very rich history and it is fantastic to hear that you were able to enjoy this during your stay. I am sorry to hear that the wind pushed BBQ smoke into your room, but it is fantastic to see that you were upgraded to our spacious 3 bedroom apartment; they really do have fantastic views.

Thank you again for you wonderful feedback and I hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Having first stayed here last August we were so impressed with all aspects available we return this March for a seven day stay. Now anxious for an excuse to return a third time. Highlights were the excellent fitness centre with pools, exercise equipment sauna and personal favourite the steam room. Eased muscles after completing The Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Patina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Patina2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your 7 days with us and I am glad that you were able to relax and unwind with our hotel facilities.

Patina2013, thank-you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from spending our first wedding anniversary at the Hilton Lake Taupo, where we were spoilt from the moment we arrived.

On arrival the lovely front desk woman let us know that we had been upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment which was SUCH a nice surprise! The room was absolutely stunning with a huge kitchen, lounge, bedroom and beautiful view of the lake.

We then noticed that there was a lovely card and chocolates from the manager as well! Talk about going the extra mile to make us feel special.

Overall we had another amazing stay here and will be back again hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel22175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Lovetotravel22175

Congratulations again on celebrating your first year of marriage, and thank you for sharing this special occasion with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here and that the team looked after you throughout your stay. Our one bedroom apartments really are quiet special, and it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed them as much as we do.
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#14 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $146 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing