We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we had stayed longer”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were parked in the Junior suite for the night and were not disappointed. Excellent clean, big and well appointed rooms. Smallish but functional bathroom, good views from the balcony.
Staff at the front desk were very enthusiastic and helpful and went out on a limb to arrange alternative travel activities after our initial activity was scuttled due our sick son.
Room service was a little tardy - took over an hour to deliver our order. It is located a short distance way from the main part of town, but wasn't an issue for us. Has the DeBretts spa next door which is handy for a late evening visit.
I personally feel that paying top dollar to stay here should include free secure parking - not the case (15$/night).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear EnSBee,

Thank you for your post on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your night at the Hilton Lake Taupo and found the staff enthusiastic and accommodating. In regards to the parking I am hoping that you were advised on arrival of our parking options which include the underground secure car park @ $15.00 per night or our complimentary outdoor parking in front of the hotel.

I hope that you son is feeling better now and we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The only 5 stars on the web. No regrets. Love it. Location is great! Few minutes drive away from the lake. Quiet place. Clean, spacious and cosy. Me and my sister took the junior suite with the lake view, very spacious for two! They provide bikes for you to take a ride around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Chloe604,

Thank you for your positive comments on trip advisor. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you and your sister loved the location.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is great, we had an excellent experience from beginning to end. The reception staff were efficient and very friendly. Their recognition of Hilton Hhonors status was spot on and the upgrade was fantastic. We loved the suite, having a full kitchen and laundry facilities were a real bonus. The view from the hotel was also great and it was well located close to attractions. I will surely travel here again. Well done and thanks for a great start to our holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Ryan244,

Thank you for your recent post on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you loved your experience with us and that you got to enjoy the views and space of one of our fabulous 1 bedroom apartments.
I hope that you enjoy the remainder of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

All expectations were met at this excellent property. We were checked in by friendly efficient staff. Our suite was large and well appointed. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Our children spent some hours swimming in the heated pool while we relaxed in the spa pool. The midday checkout allowed two swims from an overnight stay. The grounds are nicely laid out and maintained, and the mountain and lake views are spectacular (weather permitting). I look forward to returning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Bruce C,

Many thanks for your recent trip advisor post. How wonderful to hear that all of your expectations were met and that you got to enjoy our fabulous facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to soak up more of those amazing views.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September had a great room with views over lake and nearby mountains. Room was quite and had the added bonus of a large balcony. We had dinner at the attached restaurant which was also very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful and a special thank you to Tania for her message have a beautiful day.

Room Tip: Try the old building for something a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the old side of the Hilton Lake Taupo - the hotel is beautiful and the rooms even more so and very spacious (especially the bathroom). The staff were extremely warm and welcoming and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and even though you really only get glimpses of the lake (the hotel is a little back from the lake) I would not stay anywhere else. This is a very luxurious hotel and you really feel relaxed and pampered staying here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Simblair,

Thank you for your recent post on trip advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that you felt relaxed and pampered after your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son and I spent a night at the Hilton Taupo on our return to Auckland from a cycling event in Palmerston North. We were very weary on our arrival so the quick check in was welcome. The staff were very helpful with bike storage and room service/food excellent. Enjoyed breakfast the next morning,my only comment is the coffee was stone cold. A restful stop over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Bronwyn T,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on trip advisor. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. My apologies in regards to the coffee of which I will follow up with the team as this is of course not our usual standard.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $127 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing