We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine and Relaxing”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great state of the art facilities, gym equipment were practically new, spa, sauna and steam room are well maintained and clean. The heated pool is genuinely heated at 35 degrees so a night dip in winter was not that bad. Has this relaxed resort feel and the Hilton quality of service was definitely upheld! Will come back again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaiDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear CaiDee,

Thank you for your post on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and utilised our wonderful recreational facilities.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton the night after our wedding as a little getaway before our overseas honeymoon! The service was brilliant. They upgraded us on arrival and congratulated us on our marriage. The room was big and modern. Gotta love Hilton beds. There was champagne waiting in the room for us, great little touch. Reception and manager were very friendly. Pool area was awesome and we had amazing weather which means we enjoyed the pool and spa. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Jessica T,

Congratulations.

Thank you so much for your recent post. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful honeymoon and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our beautiful region in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here last month for a couple of days, to celebrate a 70th birthday for a family member. The staff were extremely helpful and our room was lovely and spacious. We always enjoy the outdoor swimming pool/spa pool area and enjoyed meeting some lovely foreign people travelling around New Zealand. One of the best places to stay in Taupo. Lovely views of the Lake and the usual Hilton style.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the lake, ours was facing the swimming pool area the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is perched high with a great view of Lake Taupo. The hotel has had an extension, which we stayed in which was just brilliant. Lovely big living area. Lovely decor. The only complaint we had was that the bathroom was a little pokey.
The hotel has an older part where the restaurant & lounge bar is - this part has a long history, which is interesting. The bar/lounge has a great feeling, with the log fire & comfy leather lounges.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Parn04,

Thank you for your trip advisor post. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the bathroom may I suggest that on your next stay you book a 1 bedroom apartment as they not only have a lovely spacious living area but also a large bathroom with a shower, bath and 2 basins.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A typical Hilton hotel with good facilities and friendly staff. However, you are expected to pay for internet access in your room - free in the Business Centre but foot traffic passes through this room from one part of the hotel to another.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Derek S,

I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities good and the staff friendly. Having noted your comments regarding Internet charges at the hotel, while not alone among the major hotel operators in charging for the provision of High Speed Internet access, Hilton is currently undertaking a project to review both the charging for and reliability of High Speed Internet access. As you know at the Hilton Lake Taupo we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the Reception area and the Business Centre and I am sorry that the business centre layout was not to your liking.
We hope to see you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really needed to have a relaxing evening after a hectic week. The Hilton is a very well positioned Hotel with friendly staff and amazing amenities. Will be staying there in the future without a doubt. Well worth checking out the restaurant. Our meal was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for your recent post. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you managed to get some rest and relaxation whilst here. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was really pleased to bring my family to The Hilton Taupo.On arrival the customer service was great, I was met at the door and the checking in was very pleasant.. We were tired after our 6 hours driving so we just wanted to eat and go to bed but the restaurant was busy and we had to find somewhere off site. I think there could be some communication about the restaurant when we book a room otherwise how do you know.The card keys were a pain in the bum because they just didn't work. But this is a great place and its not often you get such a high level of customer service. Well done the Hilton but please just communicate to your customers about the restaurant it doesn't take much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Jenny H,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I am pleased that you found our customer service to be of a high standard and that in general you enjoyed your time with us. I am however sorry that you could not dine in the restaurant and had to go offsite. Bistro Lago is very popular with locals and bookings are recommended especially in the weekends. I am hoping that you were advised of our In Room Dining Menu which is a good alternative if you don’t want to leave the hotel.
We hope to see you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $126 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing