We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet stay”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Paeroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A typical Hilton hotel with good facilities and friendly staff. However, you are expected to pay for internet access in your room - free in the Business Centre but foot traffic passes through this room from one part of the hotel to another.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Derek S,

I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities good and the staff friendly. Having noted your comments regarding Internet charges at the hotel, while not alone among the major hotel operators in charging for the provision of High Speed Internet access, Hilton is currently undertaking a project to review both the charging for and reliability of High Speed Internet access. As you know at the Hilton Lake Taupo we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the Reception area and the Business Centre and I am sorry that the business centre layout was not to your liking.
We hope to see you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    520
    189
    64
    23
See reviews for
428
1,143
59
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really needed to have a relaxing evening after a hectic week. The Hilton is a very well positioned Hotel with friendly staff and amazing amenities. Will be staying there in the future without a doubt. Well worth checking out the restaurant. Our meal was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for your recent post. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you managed to get some rest and relaxation whilst here. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was really pleased to bring my family to The Hilton Taupo.On arrival the customer service was great, I was met at the door and the checking in was very pleasant.. We were tired after our 6 hours driving so we just wanted to eat and go to bed but the restaurant was busy and we had to find somewhere off site. I think there could be some communication about the restaurant when we book a room otherwise how do you know.The card keys were a pain in the bum because they just didn't work. But this is a great place and its not often you get such a high level of customer service. Well done the Hilton but please just communicate to your customers about the restaurant it doesn't take much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jenny H,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I am pleased that you found our customer service to be of a high standard and that in general you enjoyed your time with us. I am however sorry that you could not dine in the restaurant and had to go offsite. Bistro Lago is very popular with locals and bookings are recommended especially in the weekends. I am hoping that you were advised of our In Room Dining Menu which is a good alternative if you don’t want to leave the hotel.
We hope to see you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hilton Hotel in Taupo. I was a bit skeptical wanting to book at Hilton because we had one of our worst experiences at Hilton Auckland, but Hilton Taupo was top class and is one of the best hotels we have ever been to.

The check-in the staff was extremely helpful, room was very modern - even had 2 TV's for the junior suite room so I was able to have the All Blacks and Warriors game on at the same time.

The pool and spa was clean - Parts of the day it was pretty packed and given that it was winter I would imagine it would be even busier during the summer period. But there is also another option of going to the DeBretts Hot Springs which is located next to the Hilton and will be a 5 minute walk. Its worthwhile to mention that guests of Hilton Taupo get a entry for $15 rather than $20.

Would definitely be returning and highly recommended to others.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, then ask for wing 3 or 4 - as wing 1 and 2 is closer to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddy238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Eddy 238,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your two nights at Hilton Lake Taupo. I was pleased to hear your favourable comments about the staff and the modern room, and, that you found the two TV’s in the Junior Suite user friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great spot, excellent accomodation and facilities - the spa pool was bliss and health centre was well set up and very clean. Staff were welcoming and hospitable. The view from the restaurant was amazing. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Linsay M,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I was thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the Hilton Lake Taupo and that you managed to utilise and enjoy our excellent recreational facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Reception staff were very helpful and courteous. We're upgraded to a lovely room with a balcony near the swimming pool. The staff came before dark to turndown our beds (turn the blanket/bedspread). Big spacious bathroom with his and hers bathrobes and sleepers.provided.
We have a very goodnight sleep and wished we have more days to stay to enjoy the luxury accommodation.
There is a valet service but if you want them to park your car. There is a charge of $15/day parking if you want to use to covered parking. A few minutes drive away from town but we've got the awesome view of the lake. Top staff services. Love this place and I will recommend others to stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Lake Taupo and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Beth M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a post on trip advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and enjoyed the view of the lake from the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent service overall but a few things wrong with the room. Noisy neighbours (not helped by having a room with an adjoining door to the next room; am sure we wouldn't have heard so much if it was just a normal wall). Hairdryer and kettle both not working correctly. Sinks slow to drain and shower water pressure not great. Quality and presentation of room service meal terrible; completely expected from a top-class restaurant. Staff offered waiver of 1.5% credit card fee to compensate for problems. Spa and pool lovely. Easy drive to Taupo central. Room really clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear LyndelS

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay and found the service excellent overall. I am however sorry that the room you were allocated was a connecting room, for future stay’s please let us know that you would prefer not to have a connecting room.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the hairdryer and kettle, I have followed up with House Keeping and these issues have now been rectified. I have also discussed the shower pressure and slow drainage with maintenance.
In regards to your room service dinner I have passed your valuable comments onto Bistro Lago’s Food and Beverage Manager who joins me in apologising for your in room dining experience. He will be following this up with his team.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing