We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Hilton Lake Taupo, we had a lovely time. We had a suite which was great only down side is I was expecting and didn't get was a bath.We had to shut the sliding door to our bedroom when we slept as there were not full curtains in our room, this prevented the air conditioning from keeping us cool which was a shame. Loved the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazmohillock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear shazmohillock,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Lake Taupo.

I appreciate your comment regarding the lack of blackout curtains in our Junior Suite lounge areas and am pleased to advise that due to valued feedback such as this we are currently working our way through our 19 Junior Suites to install blackout curtains in the lounge areas.

The Junior Suites were initially designed to separate the lounge area from the bedroom for greater privacy from the lounge however we do appreciate that many people like to sleep with the bedroom door open to encourage greater ventilation.

I do hope that we will see you return to the hotel at some stage in the future and thank you again for posting.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,111)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Lake Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in a junior suite, the suite was quite spacious one room with a king bed and ensuite with television and the lounge area had a double sofa bed which was made up for our son, and also another television. It also had a mini bar and tea coffee facilities. It had a big balcony with a six seater table and chairs and it overlooked the gully and trees and we could also see the pool. The only negative of the room was the sheer curtains or nets which meant that the light streamed through in the morning which meant we woke early. There were doors you could shut to separate the king room from the lounge but it was hot so we had those open and as my son was in the lounge it was quite bright for him. The pool complex was good and plenty of towels available at the pool and it was heated although I'm not sure if was 26 degrees as it didn't feel it although it was a cooler day in Taupo so my son and I swam but not my husband as he felt it was to cold. The spa/thermal pool was great. We had breakfast and were very impressed as it was great selection including croisants with salami and cheese the pastries were nice and the juice selection was good especially the cranberry juice which you don't often get and my son loved the thick honey pancakes that he had. It was a bit pricey but I expect to pay a premium for somewhere like the Hilton and as we were only staying one night it was a bit of a treat. We booked though the Hilton website as my husband has joined the Hilton Honours program so you have to book through the website to get points. We did speak to a couple who booked through Wot If and paid less. We enjoyed our night and would stay at Hiltons in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweety00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear tweety00 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, it is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and were able to make use of the facilities.

I appreciate your comment regarding the Junior Suites and am pleased to advise that due to feedback we are currently working our way through these to install blackout curtains into the lounge areas of our 19 Junior Suites.

Many thanks again for posting, please be assured that we very much appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,
Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Awesome stay, great suite. Would love it just a wee bit closer to town, but would def stay again. Pool is lovely and staff available without being intrusive. Car parking is a slight issue and you need to park at top to get luggage out and then park car at bottom of hill and walk up unless you have paid for under hotel parking or lucky enough to find a space at the top from the very limited ones available. Beds great, food good but DON'T use the extractor fan, the fire Alarm was set off and evacuated the hotel and went for ages. Apparently the staff cringe when they see people walking in with food to cook as they know it will happen!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RieBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear RieBob,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your stay at the hotel in October. I note your comment advising guests not to use the extractor fans in our apartments however I must stress the importance of using these. Failure to not follow the in room cooking instructions which advise use of the extractor fan can cause the fire alarm to be set off. Having said this, alarm activations are not a common occurrence and we welcome those staying in apartments to make full use of the facilities.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future and trust that you will have an enjoyable 2013.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hilton. The room was large but very sparsely furnished - no character. They have a pillow menu which is nice if you prefer something softer.
Considering the room is for two the bathroom is only provided with enough toiletries for one person. The bathroom is equipped with both a bath and shower with heated floor, which is nice.
The swimming pool is nice although a bit small, especially if the hotel is full. The gym is also ok with a few machines available, plus there is a sauna and steam room (although they take a while to heat up if you're the first to use.)
Breakfast was good, very extensive selection of foods.

Our major issue was the extras; if you wanted to use the wifi it was charged at $30 a day! I have stayed in small b&b's where it is free, I see no reason why they should charge you on top of your room rate for this, especially considering how much it is a night!
If your wanted to make a call to Australia it is extortionate- over $100 for half an hour!

If your looking for a place with character I would not stay at the Hilton - more suited to business travellers who just want to crash out (and not use the Internet!). It is also set quite a way back from the lake which is not great if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Venetiar ,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor it is always good to receive honest feedback as this assists us to improve our overall offering.

I note your feedback regarding charged internet in the guest room however it would appear that you have neglected to mention the complimentary internet provided in the hotel lobby and business centre facilities. The complimentary internet option is very popular for those on the go and wishing to keep in touch with family back home or the office.

Thank you again for sharing.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in spacious suite it was well appointed however lack of sun blocking curtains resulted in a rude early morning wake up call from the sun blasting its way in.

We booked 4 adults but the sofa bed could only fit 2 small children and only just. The sofa bed was extremely small/short and very uncomfortable. They did promptly deliver a roll away bed which was comfortable however they wanted to charge $60 all up for the bed. Room has washer and dryer which is handy.
There was also a problem with a loose part of the roof banging down on the ceiling keeping us awake all night. We told them the next morning, they fixed it promptly, comped the roll away bed.
Stay was ok. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear ebnice,

Many thanks for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and am sorry that you were disturbed during your sleep. It would appear that a small piece of roof flashing directly above your room became loose during extreme winds and caused the reported noise. This has now been rectified. I understand that you reported this to our attention at 4:00am and a room move was offered however I appreciate that this was not a convenient time.

With regards to bedding, I have looked into your booking and it would appear that the reservation was confirmed for two adults and two children on a package utilising the sofa bed; it is pleasing to hear that we were able to assist promptly with additional bedding to ensure your greater comfort.

My apologies once again for being disturbed during the evening and I do hope that we will see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hilton. We had a suite and it was big enough for my family of 4 with two single beds and one queen sized sofa bed. The duty manager that day was very hands-on and she helped to bring our luggage to the room as there wasn't any other staff available when we arrived. She was also very patient in answering all our questions. It was great service and a good night's rest! Taupo is beautiful especially at the lake!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJJ918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear LJJ918,

Thank you for taking a few moments to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to Great Lake Taupo.

I appreciate your feedback regarding our assistant manager and the assistance offered. I will ensure that she is personally recognised. As part of our personalised service offering, we encourage all team members to be hands from the moment we greet you at the door to ensure a pleasurable journey and experience.

Safe travels and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff were eager to help, and the concierge was excellent. Room attendant did fine job. Rooms were really high tech and bathroom was huge with 3 head shower. Unfortunately, the property was not well kept. The pool had several used band aids floating around, so I wouldn't get in. Elevator broken for two days. Food was marginal at best. Location was less than ideal. Internet poor. They charged extra 1.5% for using credit card, which isn't big deal if rate wasn't as high.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TktPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear TktPlease,

I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed excellent service from the hotel team.

I am sorry to hear of the band aid in the swimming pool. We do have a strict cleaning and chemical dosing programme in place and it would appear that this may have been deposited in between our checks. Secondly I do apologise that the elevator servicing your room was out of order. Please be assured that I am addressing the delay in repair, over the Christmas period with our service agent.

As you have mentioned Hilton Lake Taupo is located a short 5-minute drive from the town centre in between Mt Tauhara and Lake Taupo in an elevated position offering higher level views of the Great Lake and distant Tongariro National Park.

Again, thank you for sharing feedback and I do hope that we can welcome you back from the US sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $133 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing