We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing for a Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived at reception and asked for the cheapest room. Was offered a $300 room with a lake view. Pity about having to walk so far outside to find the block that the room was in. Room is massive and could do with more furniture to make it feel more friendly. To see the lake you have to go to the sliding door and there is a glimpse of the lake in the distance. The immediate view is of a gravel area(undeveloped carpark) and State Highway 5 into Taupo. Bathroom is good and nice toiletries. The "lake view" rooms get no sunshine as they face south and the room opens onto a deep covered balcony which you share with others. Could do with some large potted plants to cheer it up a bit. Overall the room and balcony are dark, and cold. I think the rooms on the other side of the building would get the sun but no lake view, for what it was worth. Restaurant was disappointing - found something that looked like pet fur in my food. The waiter said it was lint. Wouldn't eat there again. Had higher hopes for this being a Hilton. I think this place lets the Hilton brand down.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonAbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear MonAbri,

I appreciate you taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations.

In response to your feedback, I am pleased to confirm that the vacant section in front of the hotel will next month be redeveloped into additional car parking for hotel guests with surrounding gardens and defined markings.

I appreciate your comment regarding views of the lake from the hotel. In our elevated position between Lake Taupo and Mt Tauhara the hotel offers greater panoramic views and is only a short 10-minute stroll to the lakefront. I am also sorry to read that you found the sun was lacking from your balcony however I can confirm in summer we have some fabulous days in Taupo and I encourage you to come back to experience some of our many summer activities.

Bistro Lago restaurant is owned and managed by Celebrity Chef Simon Gault. I have passed your feedback on to the manager of Bistro Lago. I am confident that due to the restaurants very high standards your feedback will be very much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    499
    184
    63
    22
See reviews for
416
1,102
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked in for 2 nights, our room was very clean and had a great view of the lake. Room service was excellent. we didn’t have to request for anything. The staffs were very helpful and made sure at all times everything was ok. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Request for a Lake view room,has a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Priya L,

Many thanks for taking the opportunity to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is always very pleasing to know that we have exceeded guest expectations and I thank you for sharing this with us.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a fab night stay at the Hilton Taupo after an amazing days skiing on Whakapapa. The spa /pool/sauna facilities are brilliant and just what was needed after a hard days skiing. The hotel is beautifully presented. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear JoshR74,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Lake Taupo. It is wonderful to hear that the hotel facilities, accommodation and location were just what you were after following your day skiing at Mt Ruapehu. With Mt Ruapehu being just 1-hour away, Taupo is a great base location for skiing and boarding the north island slopes.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back on your next ski trip or visit to Taupo.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think that bad thing is I just kept comparing to our stay at the Hilton in Auckland. I know all hotels are different and should be judged on their own merits but soemthing just didn't hit the mark. I think the 'idea' or personality of the Hilton brand comes with a level of expectation.

Don't get me wrong at ALL. Our room was really nice, the bed was super comfy, the pool was AWESOME and the staff (the small interaction we had with them) were really lovely. One of the desk girls even helped carry my few bags to the car as we checked out.

But it was just the little things. Like having the bathrobe, but not the little slippers. A big stuido suite with a hard sofa and no Sky Watch mag. And I think the major thing that make me think.... but it's the Hilton... no real milk for a cuppa in the morning. Just 4 little UHT capsules sitting with the Dilmar.

Like I said our stay was really lovely but it's those little touches that make the Hilton the Hilton. The little things make the big picture better.

Thanks for a lovely stay Hilton Taupo. Hope to see you again sometime.

Room Tip: Just remeber that not all room have lake veiws :) We had a Junior suite which over looks the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear MikeandNeen,

I appreciate the feedback you have placed on TripAdvisor and thank you for taking the time to share regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that your room was missing slippers, this is certainly something we usually provide and I will take this opportunity to investigate further, please accept my apologies. With regards to fresh milk, we are pleased to offer this upon request to ensure you only receive the freshest of milk however for convenience also offer the UHT option in our mini bar fridge. A small card in our tea and coffee caddy explains that fresh milk is available.

It is great to hear that you found our team helpful and I am sorry that we fell short in the above areas, please be assured that we usually hit it right on the mark and I am sorry we didn't on this occasion.

I do hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the quiet location overlooking the magnificent Lake Taupo and three snow capped mountains, to the well appointed room, great pool (although a bit cold when exiting at night) to the wonderful staff who cant do enough for you, this is my favourite hotel anywhere in the world. The perfect place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but request one with a view of the lake and mountains if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belairtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear belairtravellers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, on TripAdvisor. It is certainly very pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations across all facets of service and facility delivery and ensured that your visit to Taupo was a memorable one.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again sometime in the future.

Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just organised a conference for 25 members of our Leadership Team and I have to rate this hotel 10/10 for their excellent customer service, well organised team and the most excellent facilities which made our conference the best. Would rate this one of the best hotels I've stayed in New Zealand and would definately go back for a conference as well as a leisure break.

Room Tip: I would select the 1 bedroom apartment as has kitchen facilities so that you are able to please your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sandra G,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Lake Taupo as your company’s conferencing venue. I appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor, it was certainly our pleasure to host yourself and delegates here for the event and I am pleased to hear that we were able to assist in delivering one of your best
I do hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel for another conference or personal stay in the near future.

Sincere regards,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

was lovely to stay there , food was fantastic ( wedding meal for dinner) and buffet for breaky. Lovely views and warm cosy rooms.

Did expect a little more from a hilton as on our recent holiday in vietnam expereinced better treatment from other hotels etc. No body offers to carry bags which is kind of what I expected but we still had a great time.

not really walking distance to town which i had expected

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Blue0001,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not offered porter service following arrival at the hotel, this is certainly a service we offer and I am sorry that we missed the mark on this.

Thank you again for sharing and I do hope that we will see you again soon where we will strive to exceed your expectations with our service and accommodation offering.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing