We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, nicely furnished suite and excellent restaurant”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large, nicely furnished suite and excellent restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was our third Hilton visit during our 2-week New Zealand holiday. Since I have earned lots of Hilton Honors points traveling on business, we try to stay at Hiltons where possible and were not disappointed on this NZ trip. After stays at the Auckland and the brand-new Queenstown Hilton, we stayed for 2 nights at the Taupo property. The hotel is not at lake side, but perhaps 1 or 2 kilometers inland on the Napier-Taupo highway, on a hill.

Check-in was professional and quick. Staff were pleasant. We were given a junior suite upgrade and ended up with a huge room in the new wing of the hotel, not the historic building where the restaurant is located. The room was nicely furnished in that modern Asia-Pacific Hilton style. The bed and pillows were particularly comfortable and there was even a "pillow menu" to customize the pillow's firmness and stuffing. The supplied pillows were firm and very nice. The suite had a huge balcony with a table and four chairs. The only disappointment is that the room faced the back of the property, not towards the lake. This view is a bit mixed: you can see some interesting hot springs activity (steam issuing from the ground), but also some less attractive buildings off to the hotel's north side which looked like warehouses.

There were two parking options: under the new hotel wing for $15/night or complimentary which was a very short walk down the hill from the main entrance.

We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel's Bella Lago restaurant. As with all of the New Zealand Hilton properties, buffet breakfast was top notch and very tasty. Our lunch was likewise excellent. My beef fillet was nicely prepared as was my wife's meal (I think that it was risotto). We had a side of seasonal vegetables which was huge. Desert was also tasty.

So, in summary, all three Hilton New Zealand properties are first class, comfortable, with friendly, engaging staff.

Room Tip: Try for a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefftiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    534
    196
    67
    26
See reviews for
451
1,168
61
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

A beautiful hotel to stay at! Every time we have stayed the rooms have been spotlessly clean with a nice modern interior.
The best views are on the side of the hotel facing Lake Taupo, I would definitely recommend staying on the lake side as the views are pretty amazing:)
Also I would recommend the full breakfast buffet - absolutely delicious!!!
Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalavantingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We paid for a room that was supposed to have a sweeping lake view and got a room on the ground floor with half of the view being a construction site (used as a parking lot) and some view of the lake to the right. The deck areas have no privacy between rooms. The secured parking that we paid extra for was left open during the day. However, there were three card-secured doors from the lift foyer to our room, not including our room's door, which is over-the-top security making moving luggage particularly cumbersome, especially when the ground floor decks have no security and the only thing that separates the deck and the room is a glass ranch slider with a standard latch and a hook stay.

The bedding including the cover was white but with tiny grey-black fluff on it here and there, and there were black stains on the sheet. There black stains on the towels, too. The bed was nice and soft, though not enough support for my husband. Unfortunately, the pillows were way too tall and firm, which gave us both a sore neck.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcj_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed one night at Hilton, got a deal so treated myself to a higher standard hotel than I would normally use.
Room was nicely appointed and service great, would like to go back with partner for a holiday.
It is out of town a bit but I was arriving late and leaving early so that wasn't an issue.
Charges for extras are excessive would be my only negative - water at dinner was more than the beer, internet charges OTT and room service meals about 10% more than restaurant PLUS delivery fee - but I guess if you are a regular at 5 star hotels these might seem normal. Those booking deals should be aware of these costs as they can change what looked like a cheap room rate. Covered parking is also overpriced considering there is also free parking all around.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igota29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

nice enough rooms but stayed other places in taupo in a better location cheaper and nicer

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cawhigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

When visiting NZ this april we made an overnight stop in Taupo. As a member of Hilton HHonors the hotel of choice of course was the Hilton Taupo. Check-in was disappointing because of a stressed and unfriendly accountant. Finding our room was not easy. The room was spacious and clean with the standard equipment of a 5-star hotel. Nice balcony and pool. Breakfast buffet was oK but not as large as you know from other Hilton hotels. My daughter ordered a hot chocolate instead of tea/coffee and this was charged extra. The waiters were quite unfriendly. Check-out was fast with a helpful and kind accountant. Overall we expected more of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom11004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our North Island tour. It's not as close to the town centre as some other hotels, and our GPS could not locate it by the address of the hotel either, however the view from the hotel was great.

Our King bed guest room was very spacious with a shared balcony, and a lot of space in the room for our luggage. The bathroom was very clean and room service was quite thorough every day. We also want to note that Lisa from the front desk was the best service staff we've met during our two week holiday in New Zealand.


Free parking is available but sometimes the parking spaces near the rooms can run out and we had to park in another carpark further down from the complex a few times (a 5 minute or so walk), which wasn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkanoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing