We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place-good for chilling out but a distance from town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is a laid back, no frills 2-storey motel with ample free parking space. Situated about 3km away from the town centre along lake terrace, it is not really by the lake but on the other side of the road. You can't really see the lake until you are on the second storey facing the main road.

The rooms are pretty basic with minimum furniture and lighting - there is a huge tv though. Good enough if you want to just spend the night and spend your day doing activities. The bathroom tends to get flooded since it's just a shower curtain trying its best to keep the water out. It's not the most luxurious of accommodation, but it's good value. There's a small swimming pool and a tennis court too.

One criticism is that there is no internet access in the room, wired or otherwise. You have to go to the lobby to get connected. My advice is not to bother about that, but to head to town to the cafes which offer free internet with a purchase. Our recommendation is the lovely delicatessen called "Salute", or the cafe beside Subway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jassym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 225 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

Lakeland Resort Taupo is motel style accommodation. But its nice, clean, good value for money and all that.

Rooms had huge plasma televisions. Like the biggest I've ever seen from even the plushest of accommodations. So if your a sports fan could be a positive. Other than that quality linen, good size for a motel and everything was clean.

Its a bit of a walk into town, maybe 40 minutes, so if you don't have a car keep that in mind.

Breakfast was excellent. Topped up the food frequently, fresh fruit, pastries, and the other usual suspects. But its nicely laid out so you can access the buffet easily. Some other places really don't think these things through and huge lines develop. Its the little things.

Dinner was also very nice. Decently priced, despite us being a large group everything came out together, and they let us cancel one meal as a friend felt sick and had an early night.

Most of the staff were excellent. Passed on the promotional pricing they had, which we didn't notice, and very helpful. I'm not sure the manager liked our tour group that much, which was a bit disappointing if you are prepared to accept the business, but the others were really nice.

Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepy_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I think "resort" is a bit ambitious but for one night in Taupo at $40 each it did the trick. We were given a room with a gorgeous view of the lake which was basic but clean - jug, coffee, tea, big television. The clock radio was on the wrong time which we fixed. We all had trouble sleeping as it was very hot and there didn't appear to be any ventilation except to open a window, which we were wary of as my head was right below it when sleeping! But the beds were comfy and the room very quiet.

The shower pressure was terrible and there were only two towels available for three of us staying there. We noticed there was a free spa service which sounded lovely - you had to book which wasn't a problem, but were only given a half hour allocation and the spa wasn't flash. In fact we could barely fit all three of us in it, and we aren't huge people. The staff were hot and cold, very welcoming on arrival and then snippy when we asked for extra towels.

The resort itself is not right in the centre of Taupo, about 3km from the main centre, but it was quiet and only a quick car trip to the main drag. All in all, one night was fine but any longer and I might not have been so impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowtangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Saw the "$99 special" board outside, asked to look at a room and decided to stay. A Sunday night, apparently only 4 bookings so only one staff member on duty - receptionist and barman and waitress, she did a great job of them all. Bedroom a little tired, but bathroom had been refurbished and there was a large flatscreen TV. Very quiet, didn't even hear the building site next door when they started up on Monday morning. Dinner - 50% off price of second meal - was really very good. 1 min walk to lakefront and a lovely walk.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The motel is located on the main drag by the lake with all the other motels. The place is old but there have clearly been some upgrades - the TV and heater were new, and the bed and pillows comfy. For the most part the service was good BUT I checked in on a Sunday and found instantly that a lightbulb had blown. I called down to reception to have it replaced and was told she would call the owner and if he was home he would come and replace it, but if not, she would have to ask me to come to reception for the bulb and replace it myself. She was apologetic saying that she was the only staff member on duty and could not leave reception unattended, but I find this unacceptable. The owner was home and did come promptly, and he too said I was lucky he was there! I couldnt believe this as when you pay $99 per night you do not expect to have to do the motel's general maintenance yourself! That said, the rest of the contact I had with them was good.

The parking was plentiful, and security lighting was good. There was a little noise in the ceiling from the water pipes, but you really have to expect that for this price and age of building.

There is a restaurant onsite and they will deliver to your room for $5. Dial up is advertised in the room but you will pay a single connection fee; wireless I believe is only in the common areas, the info in room said $3.50 for 30 mins or $6 for an hour.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is a large resort with hotel type facilities, tea and coffee but no cooking facilities. The rooms (sleep 3 ) are spacious and most have views of the lake. The studio we had had a large LCD TV on the wall and was comfortable. The only downside was the shower which was like standing under a watering can! We mentioned to the front desk staff and they nodded knowingly and mentioned it was on the "to do" list. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the restaurant was pleasant and offered good deals for breakfast and dinner.The complex is situated well back from busy State Highway 1 so there was no problem with traffic noise.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The Lakeland resort is a pretty basic motel located on Lake Taupo. It's a good 30-40 minute walk into Taupo itself, though along the lake it's quite a nice walk. Room was basic and could do with updating. Bathroom really needed a refit. The shower was probably the weakest shower I had ever used! Not very refreshing first thing in the morning! There are tons of motels along the lake, I suggest finding one a little nearer to Taupo itself, this one wasn't really worth the long walk.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#41 of 68 in Taupo
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $72 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing