We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is about the third time i have stayed here over the years, has recently been renovated in all units.
I found myself at last minute going to Taupo, so gave them a call, $99 for a room is super cheap, and it is nice, a queen and a single bed, and a large screen TV on wall,

Bathroom was spotless, probably the cleanest I have seen in a hotel or motel ever.

Chose the buffet breakfast option also, which was convenient and worth it, as can eat and get on with your day, rather than trying to sort out a cafe near by

nice blackout curtains, makes room very dark and get a good nights sleep

A little out of town, but only by 5 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehn787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate the feedback. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Room decent size and pleased with refurbished bathroom. Cold at night as only single glazed metal windows which are not good at keeping out the cold! Cleaners very efficient and comfy beds. A bit annoying that I needed a bottle opener for a beer and the receptionist said their only bottle openers were attached to the bar! Also no cutlery in the room except for one teaspoon. It should not be necessary to ask for such basic things as cutlery in a motel type room. Finally the cooked breakfast on offer today was appalling, the bacon tasted like it had been cooked for hours and was so tough I left most of it as it could not be cut! The only saving grace was the scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast, and apologise that you didn't find it up to scratch. As we are a hotel with a restaurant, not a motel, we do not have kitchens, only tea & coffee making facilities, however we are more than happy to provide cutlery should our guests require it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at this resort between Christmas 2013 and New Year. From our arrival the receptionist was warm and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean, however the bathroom needed attention. The corner where the shower screen joined the bath needed a good a clean. The trap in the floor needed uplifting and cleaning also. The outside bathroom window whilst hard to reach, needed a clean. The room was lovely and quiet with no traffic noise. We ate dinner in the restaurant on site. The meals were great & so was the service. You do need to make a reservation as it gets very busy. We had a good breakfast, even though restaurant was very busy we did not have to wait for a table like a lot of people. The juice was very watered down, however upon mentioning it the staff was more than happy to add more fruit juice. Upon leaving the resort the receptionist was very friendly.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Our sincere apologies that you found the bathroom was not up to our usual standard as we do pride ourselves on our cleanliness here. I have addressed the situation with our housekeeping department, and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We saw sign and investigated and were very supprised to find this hotel for that price as all other place were over $ 140 night or more for this time of year uand the place was very tidy also have spa pool heated only downside was the swimming pool was not so large

Room Tip: Ask them to show then decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramram47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again, and don't forget our loyalty programme!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very basic room: no extra pillows, no knife or fork (probably as there is a restaurant attached to the motel). We picked up a scone on the way here and had to use a spoon to spread put on the jam. VERY COMFORTABLE BEDS - not the usual hard brick like beds that motels usually offer so that was a pleasant surprise. Wouldn't like to stay here more than one night as the room is quite small, however it is VERY CLEAN.

Room Tip: If you bring food to eat in the room, bring cutlery with you. There is only 1 teaspoon. A bit mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhondda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for your comments. If you only let us know we are more than happy to provide extra pillows, cutlery etc. So pleased you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way North . The room was very basic with the bare minimum provided i.e no extra pillows, very basic bathroom etc. We stopped in Taupo so we could see the lake however the room looked directly into the back of the admin block. The cost of the room was very much on the high side for what it was. On the bright side the room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We're so sorry to hear that you did not find our property to your satisfaction as we do strive to give our guests a great product and service. Please be aware that December through to February is an extremely busy time in Taupo and we are full to capacity most nights, therefore we can't gaurantee everyone a Lakeview room. We trust we can be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was booked for 3 nights between Xmas & new year but was so happy that we booked another night. Great staff who were attentive and friendly, great sized rooms (122 overlooking the lake) which were very clean, a double and a single bed and you still had room to swing the proverbial cat around in! Price included breakfast which was plentiful. Free WiFi as well. Plenty of parking and a great location just outside the town of Taupo which meant it was quite. Had dinner twice while we were there and the 2 lamb shanks were tasty so I had it both times! Outside pool was not heated but as the weather was really bad anyhow it didn't matter as we only used it once. Onsite washing machines that held a vast amount so for $3 dollars you could wash a family load. If I ever went back to Taupo would I stay here again? A resounding YES!

Room Tip: We had 122 & 123 rooms which gave a good view out over the lake..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisKim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we apprieciate it as we do strive to offer a great service here at The Lakeland. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#41 of 68 in Taupo
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $71 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing