We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Prices”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Took a large group to this Hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy and plenty of parking. Fair pricing and well maintained property. Restaurant onsite. Would be good if the rooms had some cutlery in them for quests to use. Will be back

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are Are great for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardT2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. Here at the Lakeland we offer a great Loyalty program for our repeat customers. And please ask for cutlery next time as we will happily provide it if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    91
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
105
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Outside of hotel seemed nice and location but beds I didn't like, place was tidy but small rooms may be too small and beds worn very soft, was uncomfortable
stayed one night decided to go to another hotel pretty average,

Room Tip: ask for solid beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We're sorry you found the beds uncomfortable, as you can appreciate it is a very hard to please everyone when it comes to their sleeping requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Lakeland Resort in February and found it very good value for money. Its location is fabulous - set back from the road and overlooking the lake. ( we had an upstairs room and a beautiful view of Lake Taupo). The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom spotless. Staff were polite, courteous and very helpful. We decided to eat in the restaurant instead of going elsewhere and were extxremely pleased that we did so. The lamb shanks we both chose were delicious, very tender and beautifully presented. Breakfast the following morning was also nicely cooked. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Lakeland Resort and around happily return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We'd love to see you back again. Dont forget our loyalty cards, a great way to earn a free night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Lakeland resort on a Saturday & Sunday night. Rooms have been recently refurbished and were in good condition (apart from some black scuff marks on the wallpaper.) Bed was comfortable, and the bathroom spotlessly clean.

I pre-booked for bed & breakfast. Having paid for a cooked breakfast, I was rather expecting to get one, but on Monday morning I paid the balance of my bill before going to the restaurant. Only then I was told that there was no cooked breakfast available - kitchen closed due to low numbers. No reduction/refund/apology offered when paying the bill.

I feel ripped off and won't be going back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alfanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am disappointed to read your review as we did apologise and remedy the situation as soon
as it was bought to our attention. We are certainly not out to rip our customers off, it was a simple mistake that was rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The drawing card for Lakeland Resort are the mass planting in the entrance. The price of the room was cheap in accordance to this. On entering the room, it looked old fashioned. The spa bath had the most pressure behind it than any I have been in. Needed to open windows to get rid of the steam. The bed was not the best, as I could feel springs, at least it is covered with an electric blanket. I recommend they purchase new beds, then it would be top notch!

Room Tip: "Ask for a room with the best bed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. If you are able to let us know which room you were in we would be able to assess the bed situation, as we will happily replace beds if we know they are not up to scratch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to say that it has been my intention as a regular business traveler nationally to write about the Lakeland Resort Taupo so many times given the absolutely outstanding venue for all occasions it is - be it Holiday, Business, Conferences or other. From arrival to departure and everything in between it is taken care of by a very committed and courtesies team under the General Management of Julie Sievwright and by name to the front line and customer care - Hayley, Claire & Jill along with Richie to Bar & Restaurant. The Open Plan Restaurant is a world on its own and when dinner is over its just a walk across the road for a sit or walk by the lake.
The rooms are quiet and peaceful and the beds ensure a good nights sleep. When you see what I see every trip (The car park is full) its best to book and you wont be disappointed. Graham

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, we really appreciate it, an enjoy having you as a regular guest at the Lakeland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#36 of 69 in Taupo
258 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Property: Lakeland Resort Taupo
Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing