We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$180
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$137
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$134
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$482
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
52
99
68
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
99
68
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfastbasic roomshower pressuretea and coffee making facilitiesclean roomsper nightcomfortable staytennis courtsreception staffupstairs roomwalk into towncomfortable bedone night stayshort drivea great place to staynew zealandlake
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 245 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Lakeland Resort in February and found it very good value for money. Its location is fabulous - set back from the road and overlooking the lake. ( we had an upstairs room and a beautiful view of Lake Taupo). The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom spotless. Staff were polite, courteous and very helpful. We decided to eat in the restaurant instead of going elsewhere and were extxremely pleased that we did so. The lamb shanks we both chose were delicious, very tender and beautifully presented. Breakfast the following morning was also nicely cooked. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Lakeland Resort and around happily return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We'd love to see you back again. Dont forget our loyalty cards, a great way to earn a free night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Lakeland resort on a Saturday & Sunday night. Rooms have been recently refurbished and were in good condition (apart from some black scuff marks on the wallpaper.) Bed was comfortable, and the bathroom spotlessly clean.

I pre-booked for bed & breakfast. Having paid for a cooked breakfast, I was rather expecting to get one, but on Monday morning I paid the balance of my bill before going to the restaurant. Only then I was told that there was no cooked breakfast available - kitchen closed due to low numbers. No reduction/refund/apology offered when paying the bill.

I feel ripped off and won't be going back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alfanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

I am disappointed to read your review as we did apologise and remedy the situation as soon
as it was bought to our attention. We are certainly not out to rip our customers off, it was a simple mistake that was rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The drawing card for Lakeland Resort are the mass planting in the entrance. The price of the room was cheap in accordance to this. On entering the room, it looked old fashioned. The spa bath had the most pressure behind it than any I have been in. Needed to open windows to get rid of the steam. The bed was not the best, as I could feel springs, at least it is covered with an electric blanket. I recommend they purchase new beds, then it would be top notch!

Room Tip: "Ask for a room with the best bed"
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks for your comments. If you are able to let us know which room you were in we would be able to assess the bed situation, as we will happily replace beds if we know they are not up to scratch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to say that it has been my intention as a regular business traveler nationally to write about the Lakeland Resort Taupo so many times given the absolutely outstanding venue for all occasions it is - be it Holiday, Business, Conferences or other. From arrival to departure and everything in between it is taken care of by a very committed and courtesies team under the General Management of Julie Sievwright and by name to the front line and customer care - Hayley, Claire & Jill along with Richie to Bar & Restaurant. The Open Plan Restaurant is a world on its own and when dinner is over its just a walk across the road for a sit or walk by the lake.
The rooms are quiet and peaceful and the beds ensure a good nights sleep. When you see what I see every trip (The car park is full) its best to book and you wont be disappointed. Graham

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments, we really appreciate it, an enjoy having you as a regular guest at the Lakeland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews