We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dated but very comfortable & staff fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little dated but very comfortable & staff fantastic”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Room 19. 2nd floor great view of the lake just a studio but worth the 100 odd bucks paid.
Basic room with bed, mini fridge, coffee etc.

The reception service was top notch the lovely lady even hunted down a couple of ice buckets for us to take back to the room.
The highlight had to be the breakfast, basic spread but the freshness and attention to detail enhanced the whole breakfast experience.

The only minor gripes was breakfast there is a step that will kill you if you arent watching from the breakfast area to dining area. I missed my Mocha, there was only basic coffee. And the shower you have to put the bath mat down in the tub otherwise that will kill you to, just about broke my neck. Super market is back in town & is still a small drive into town.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast option when booking your room....worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJnzNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I agree - our breakfasts are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    90
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
31
103
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location at the south end of of the lakefront. Friendly hardworking staff. The unit was clean and tidy and had a 42 inch tv on the wall in the spa bath studio unit. Te bathroom and unit were newly refurbished. Good amount of parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonTPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed our 'Taupo Hospitality". Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in a superior spa room 1st & 2nd of April.

Good Value for money, good facilities and friendly staff.

Will stay again when we are in Taupo next. The superior spa room only has a small spa bath, however the resorts spas are nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakib87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Great, we'd love to have you back. Don't forget to ask for a Loyalty Card on your next visit. "Stay 9 nights & get your 10th night free".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is more of a cheap motel rather than a resort. The rooms were basic and small. Facilities such as a kettle and ironing board were included but no washing machine or clothes dryer. The lock to our room was broken and we could not enter the room after checking in and so we were transferred to another room. The bed sagged quite a bit and was uncomfortable. House keeping was daily. Tennis courts are on site and do not cost extra. Parking is also on site and does not cost extra.The breakfast was atrocious and not worth paying for. There was limited variety and what was there was of poor quality and cheap. I asked the staff if they had soy milk (I cannot have dairy) and they checked and told me they did not and that I usually need to let them know in advance. I then asked if I could have some soy milk for the following day and I was told by the same woman that "it depends if the kitchen has some or not". It would be better to travel less than 5 minutes up the car by road for breakfast at one of the cafes in the town centre. The best feature of this hotel is that is within 5 minutes by car of the town centre. The hotel is fine to stay at for 1 or 2 nights if you are looking for budget accommodation but I would look elsewhere for anything more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our breakfast as we find this to be a particulary popular part of our guests stay. Please be assured that we only use fresh products of which are purchased from a very reputable company, therefore the quality is a of very high standard.

We do also have laundry facilties on site. The Lakeland features a guest laundry with both washing machines & dryers available for our guests use.

We trust we can welcome you back to The Lakeland again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A very clean and well appointed room, they have clearly been recently updated. All basics were included (Kettle, ironing board, soaps etc). Staff were friendly and breakfast had hot and cold options. Central location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean basic and comfortable rooms. Enjoyable breakfast with a good selection. Pleasant service from the staff. The reward card is a good idea too. We enjoyed being out of the town centre and within an easy walk to the lake. Nice views.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor so you can take advantage of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLMSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks, and we agree - the views are lovely! Our Loyalty card is a great incentive for regular visitors to Taupo.. "Stay 9 nights and get your 10th night free".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a fairly large two-storey hotel, and takes coach tours (there is noting more annoying than a bus idling for 20 minutes outside your room). The fact I was able to get a booking between Christmas and New Year shows they have a lot of rooms to fill. But that meant good value. The room was typical hotel (only coffee making facilities, sorry), but appeared to have been 'recently upgraded' as promised with a 40" LCD TV. Didn't try the restaurant (got put off by the 'bog standard' menu) and decided to have breakfast in Taupo. Went for a night walk along the lakefront, where there are hot streams flowing in. We got what we paid for, thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid the bus park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the 'idling bus' in your review and bringing to this our attention. I agree, no one wants to hear that when they're trying to have a sleep in. I have taken your comments direct to the bus company and they have assured me that they will be reveiwing their policy regarding the starting of the buses in front of guests rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Property: Lakeland Resort Taupo
Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing