We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whakaipo Lodge”
Review of Whakaipo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whakaipo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Whakaipo Lodge”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had such a lovely time at Whakaipo Lodge. Angie and Garth were wonderful hosts; so friendly and welcoming. We loved the delicious food. The breakfast was amazing and my fiance still talks about how delicious the canapes were! The property is charming and is so peaceful. Would loved to have stayed longer. Have already and will continue to recommend Whakaipo Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
So pleased you both enjoyed your stay Alyce and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for recommending us to others - very much appreciated.
We must get the word out there that Taupo is such a special place and has so much to see and do that no matter where people are staying they should allow lots of time in this wonderful central location. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
140
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A beautiful lodge set in a gorgeous garden. Wonderful hosts Garth and Angie have a wealth of knowledge of the area (especially biking and hiking), are great chefs, and can build a mean fire in the lounge. Huge rooms, very private suites. Excellent dinner and wine...and in the morning you have a delicious breakfast with homemade bread & jams, local sausage and bacon...and Angie makes a chocolate pastry that is truly addictive. Would recommend this lodge 100%!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time at our new Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our chats by the fire and your wonderful advice on the extensive gardens at Whakaipo. The new recipe section on our website is coming soon. Perhaps I need to include the chocolate pastry recipe? We look forward to welcoming you back to Whakaipo Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Garth and Angie are the one of the most beautiful people we've met and awesome hosts, very knowledgeable too.We are so glad we chose the lodge for our first wedding anniversary, great location, great food( Aahh the salmon) nice big and clean room and really good wine.highly recommended place to get a taste of the wonderful country and it's people. Oh and thanks for sharing the salmon receipe with us too

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanandSunjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Our Indulgence Package is just perfect for that special occasion, or to treat that important person in your life! We are more than happy to share our recipes with our guests. (In fact the new recipe page on our website will be launched very soon...requests for favourite recipes welcome!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were thrilled with our stay at Whakaipo Lodge. The property is gorgeous, and our hosts were absolutely wonderful. They prepared a delicious breakfast for us and gave us lots of excellent information for our travels. Our only regret was having to leave so soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed two nights at Whakiapo Lodge for our honeymoon recently. We could not have chosen a more beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. Angie and Garth go above and beyond as warm and welcoming hosts with excellent local knowledge and amazing cuisine. Every meal was cooked fresh often from home grown ingredients and you could tell that Angie and Gareth are people that enjoy cooking and sharing in good home cooked food. A great location, not far from Taupo city as well as other local activities, whilst nested in the beautiful surroundings of the countryside. Everything about Whakaipo Lodge was inviting and we were so well looked after we never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Whakaipo Lodge Emma. (Our Indulgence Package sounds like it fitted the bill perfectly!) Wishing you both all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Angie and Garth are very good hosts with nothing too much for them to make our 3 night stay perfect. The only thing they could not control was the rain!
Very comfortable lodge and room with our own side door access and views over the garden. Great bed. The evening drinks and canapés were delicious and peppered with stimulating discussion with our hosts. This was followed on 2 nights with lovely dinner cooked by Angie. A great location on the Acacia Bay side of Lake Taupo which we had not explored before. Lovely walks as recommended by Garth.
Wifi a bit erratic but Garth is on to that and it is all part of the delights of getting away to the countryside, we all depend on keeping online all the time far too much, it is good to switch off.
Let Angie and Garth pamper you, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you Heather for your kind review. We also enjoyed our conversations over a few fine NZ wines! The wi-fi issue has been broached with Vodafone and they explained there was a major outage to services in the Taupo & Central North Island areas over that period. We have been advised that this is now fixed. We look forward to welcoming you again to Whakaipo Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband & I were there only two nights which wasn't enough. Angie & Garth treated us royally. They know the best things to do in and around Lake Taupo. Gave us great restaurant recommendations, made the reservations and offered to drive us there. We were treated to delicious pre-dinner hors d'oeuvres and a yummy breakfast. The country setting is peaceful yet close to town. The rooms wonderfully comfortable. Angie & Garth are a interesting, charming couple. Our only regret is that we live 9,000 miles away and can't see more of them and stay at their delightful lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
5.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
9.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whakaipo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whakaipo Lodge

Property: Whakaipo Lodge
Address: 1/504 Mapara Road RD 5 | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Whakaipo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning lodge nestled in serene beauty adjacent to Whakaipo Bay, you'll truly discover the best that Lake Taupo has to offer. Stunning location, luxury accommodation, gourmet food & wine and great company are all here in abundance. So sit back and relax in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Whakaipo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing