We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do for the novelty factor”

Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge
Ranked #24 of 54 Outdoor Activities in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1993 the Hole in One idea came from a conversation which was written onto the back of a beer coaster. Many years on the basic tenet has not changed. You come to the Hole in One to have fun and challenge yourself or your mates. If you get a Hole in One it's an awesome bonus. So far we have had over 800 balls land in the 3 holes. The red flag is a normal golf hole. Ever seen on TV a Hole in One? The blue flag is a 30cm sand bunker and the white flag is a 50cm (1/2 metre) sand bunker. We are one of the cheapest activities to do in Taupo and will refund anyone who doesn't have fun.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must do for the novelty factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Hit the green, even hit the pin....but never a chance of holing out. A reload for every time you hit the green makes it ok value for those who play a bit of golf. Good fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepperpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hole in None”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pretty much impossible unless you hole it straight in - as landing no the green will bounce off. Rather expensive, but something I just had to do whilst passing by.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Cullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is great fun with a great view, but it is very hard, i actually think it may be a unit dodgy as the flag/hole is raised.

But worth a try..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We've been operating over 20 years and had 864 Holes in One. If we were a little dodgy we would have been found out by now. Glad you had some fun that's what we are all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Husband played and said was ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband gave it ago and wishes he waited till the large group had moved on that were there when we arrived as no one paid attention to where he hit the ball he said he should have got extra balls also go onoly if its quiet as you have no idea where the ball is going when it lands on there

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something to do”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped off here before heading to an attraction he had already booked, thought it would just be a laugh, which it kind of was, only downside was the guy working there was quite rude, my friend asked him a simple question but instead of just answering or saying he is unsure, he replied 'Just read the signs, should be on there!' then walked away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidc87_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Sorry you weren't given the attention you needed. Staff given a rev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing