We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ Master - maybe. Service or Hygine Master - NO!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The BBQ Master - CLOSED

The BBQ Master
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“BBQ Master - maybe. Service or Hygine Master - NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here for diner when recommended by some other travellers on a tour we did in Taupo. The idea of being able to choose from a buffet of raw meat, seafood and vegies then watch a chef BBQ it for you sounded good but the place was a real let down. Staff seemed uninterested in the customers, the atmosphere was like a cheap family diner and the advantage of watching the chef was that we saw him drop a utensil on the floor then pick it up and continue to use it. having said that, the food was ok and this place might be ok for a family with kids looking for a moderately priced ($27 pp) buffet, steer clear if you are looking for something with intimacy or customer service.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tauranga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great easy meal out nice food, do think resturant could do with a tidy up and maybe a fresh new look but apart from that all good

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimbo8775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No, no, no.....disgusting. Dont eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Walked in with hardly no one there, employee looked like he was lost. Asked for a menu, and he looked at me like I was nuts. Showed me the buffet, warm meets, etc. all disgusting. Ate a few small pieces of nasty chicken, and some bottom of the bowl rice which both looked like they were sitting there for a few days. Had a tiny bit of ice cream which was okay, but the chocolate syrup seemed watered down. Was done in five minutes because I was ready to get out of this nasty tasteless place. He never brought me a bill and I was more than ready to go, so I stood up and had to wait five minutes for someone to pay attention. Finally he came over and I asked him where to pay and needed my bill. He prompted me over to the bar area, and he questioned my about only having one plate? Told him I wasnt that hungry and just wanted to get out of here. He said since I only had one small plate he would not charge me full price. So I pulled out ten dollars and gave it to him and he looked at me like I was nuts. He said the usual price was over $27, and he would only charge me $19.95!!!!!!!!! What? I said are you serious????!!! So I gave him an extra $10, and told him to keep the change.
Junk food, overpriced, and terrible service! Dont eat here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mbi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Been 2 years since last visited, quality of food and breadth of offer have gone backwards. Oysters gone and dessert menu smaller which was a disappointment for kids

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dooley7147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Visit & In Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I love this place. The food is so so awesome. I had my fill of seafood, scallops, fish, mussels and prawns twice, and it is cooked while I watched. If you are not in to seafood there is meat and chicken and lots more. I have never been to a place like this before and I absolutely loved it. Staff are extra great too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BBQ Master also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing