We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pieces”
Review of Lava Glass

Lava Glass
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful pieces”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband is lucky we have a baggage limit for our flight home. Saw so many beautiful items. Well worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    178
    69
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful glass and a great little cafe”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located just before Wairakei heading south this is well worth a visit (although probably not with little ones!) the blown glass pieces are stunning although pricey. A fabulous range of co ours and different styles. If you are visiting NZ any of these pieces would be a beautiful and unique momento of your trip.

The sales staff can be a little too pushy so beware of showing too much interest if you don't intend buying.

The cafe food is delicious and reasonably priced. This is a worthwhile stop on the way to, or when leaving Taupo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth a look”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the gallery and was impressed by the glasswares on offer for purchase. Quite expensive to buy though. The demonstrations were closed so we came back the next day to view. This does cost $5 per person which is not advertised on the website but it's very interesting and the cost is deducted from any purchases made.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating to watch”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Popped in without knowing what this place was. The first thing that strikes you is the array of colours and huge number of pieces on show from a number of different glass blowers. There is a room in the back where you can sit and watch it being done at close hand for a $5 charge but you get this back off the price of anything you want to buy. It's a great way to spend a hour although i thought the pieces were a little pricey.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mingalablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Beautiful Glass”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We found this on the Internet and made it a point to stop here. It's right on Hwy 5 so it's easy to find. The gift shop/glass store is quite large with a varied selection of blown glass available by a number of artists. We bought a Lynden Over piece and had it shipped back to the states. His work is unique. We later saw some of his pieces at Te Tapa Museum in Wellington.
There's a cute cafe at this location where we had a latte and pastry. Both were yummy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Glass also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Lava Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing