We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the coffee!”
Review of The French Cafe - CLOSED

The French Cafe
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days from 8 a.M to 4 p.M, and open for dinner on fridays and saturdays evenings ( different menu ). Bookings required for dinners. Home made French cakes every day. Parking facilities, children playground, petanque area.
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thank you for the coffee!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

On the way from Taupo to Napier, we needed a good coffee to kick start our morning and The French Cafe was gold! We also had some light and authentic French pastries which was a real treat! Do check them out! Really felt like we were in the French countryside for a moment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltedKaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great coffee, good smiley prompt service, and the food did not dissappoint. Plenty of available parking and nice ambience. What more can I say!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauupo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“attitude and cream”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Put me off, the young waiter lounged around at the counter, ignoring my presence, no one said thank you when I took back my glass as they were closing, when I questioned the extra price added to my coffee after they asked if I wanted cream, got a sulky response from barrista. No-one else in town charges extra for cream its just part of the entire cost of the coffee!! So I wont be back!!!! No excuse for bad manners just because cafe happens to be French!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A taste of France”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We sat outside under the shade of a big umbrella where we listened to music playing through the speakers while we ate a late lunch. I had buckwheat pancakes with chicken, lemon and mushrooms that was very tasty and very filling. After washing it down with a good coffee we then shared a lemon tart. The selection of french cuisine is quite extensive and the patissieres are to die for! Again, the service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. Very children friendly with a playground outside for the kids enjoy while you're enjoying a drink and a meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had been meaning to try the French Café for awhile and finally went there for lunch on Saturday. Had a great lunch, good service, nice outdoor area and easy parking. The food is so fresh and authentic, nice to have something a little bit different. Will definitely be back to try something else!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuataraTaupo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing