We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is terrible.”

Paeroa Lakeside Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paeroa Lakeside Homestay
Ranked #36 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is terrible.”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed one night never again. Arogant woman owner hugely overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steamlion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideBBTaupo, Owner at Paeroa Lakeside Homestay, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear SteamLion, we are having some trouble locating your booking as we don't seem to have had a one night booking in March 2010 and don't remember any unhappy customers. In any event, we are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We would be happy to discuss any issues you may have had as you haven't really outlined any specific details in your review. Please do not hesitate to email us at bibbys@taupohomestay.com as we pride ourselves on ensuring that all of our customers leave with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My husband & I spent several enjoyable nights there with our friends. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating. We had a lovely spacious and attractive room overlooking the lake. It was clean and had beautiful decor with an ensuite bathroom. Our breakfasts were excellent in their enjoyable company. Would not hesitate to recommend this homestay. Sincerely Elaine & Doug, Port Alberni, BC Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hambone3532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed for three nights in a downstairs ensuite room with own living room and garden overlooking the big lake, and had a wonderful time. Very relaxing, peaceful and stress free. Both the hosts were welcoming and accomodating, and were very helpful in assisting with our rental car which broke down! The room we stayed in was a decent enough size, very clean. And as for that view! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Aside from catching three trout on the lake within minutes, and hiking in the mountains, the highlight of our time in Taupo were Captain John & Barbara Bibby. They remain by far the most gracious hosts, best tour guides and chefs of all the homestays on the North Island. I certainly would'nt stay anywhere else in Taupo but here @ Paeroa Lakeside Homestay, what a view!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here three nights as part of a longer trip across New Zealand, and I'm surprised to see the other reviews--it's like we were in a completely different place!

We found the accomodations charming, the views lovely and our hosts delightful. We booked the top floor suite, it came with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and a breathtaking view of Lake Taupo. We enjoyed viewing the lake from our private terrace and had comfortable, uninterrupted sleep.

It is a house in a neighborhood, without a B&B sign, but as a 'homestay' (rather than a B&B) I didn't expect a sign and liked the idea of staying in someone's house. We found the host and hostess gracious and available, and breakfast on the second day of our stay was easily the highlight of our trip. All the breakfasts were good...day two was special.

We ate at a communal table with the other guests and the hosts, and had delightful conversations along with the tasty--and attractively presented--food. The owners were charming and well-traveled, the other guests were fun and the whole experience was a delight. It felt really homey, talking with the other couples and lingering over coffee. My husband still talks about how he learned to smoke trout from the owner--and still smokes fish that way.

We found the location terrific; the neighborhood is close to town, and there's lots to do in and around Taupo. We would absolutely stay here again if we were in this part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We would highly recommend this homestay. Beautiful spot right on Lake Taupo. 6 of us stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Rooms spacious, excellent food and wonderful hosts. Great location to see all the sights on this part of the Island. George and Elaine Mooney Parksville, B.C. Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyleisureca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

How I wish we had seen the previous review before booking this B & B. We arrived at what looks like a suburban house crammed between several others. It does open out at the back to lovely views across the lake, but there is no sign on the house to indicate that it is a B & B. We felt that the hostess was slightly embarrassed to be letting guests stay for money. The 'suite' is on the ground floor, looking out over the lake, but is essentially constructed in what was the undercroft of a house built on the side of a hill. The so-called luxury furnishings are conservatory furniture and odd pieces of old, but not antique, furniture. There was a fridge, not switched on, with ingredients to make drinks. The bedroom was small and the bathroom dark. What you can't see from the pictures is that the next door neighbour is only feet away. Shortly after we arrived, the hostess and her family went out and within minutes teenagers next door started an outdoor party, with speakers against the fence. Despite two requests from us to turn the rap down, nothing happened until we came back from dinner at 10 p.m. and the owners had called the police/armourguard who eventually arrived and took the equipment away. We had to wait with the owners until this incident was over, at way past 11 p.m. They made various comments that led us to believe that it was not the first time they had had problems with the family. Next morning we had requested breakfast at 9 a.m. but at 7.10 a.m. we were woken by a child and several adults running and walking about overhead. There is NO proper insulation from above, and we realised that three nights was not likely to be the relaxing time we had hoped for. We told the owners we were leaving, which they didn't seem too surprised about. They were very friendly throughout, and the noise situation is obviously not good for them. However, the accommodation is not up to the standard we expected, nor that which we have subsequently experienced in many other stops in New Zealand.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbours and noise from above
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Flying Trout Boutique Lodge
2.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paeroa Lakeside Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paeroa Lakeside Homestay

Property: Paeroa Lakeside Homestay
Address: 21 Te Kopua Street | Acacia Bay, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing