We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel but good facilities”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night and found this place to be pretty good.

This place is located on the main road of Taupo along with all of the other motels. There is a lot of traffic on this road and it is hard to walk across the road to the walkway beside the lake due to all the traffic. Despite the location, this motel is very quiet and we had no trouble getting to sleep.

The rooms are very dated, however, they are a good size and include a kitchenette.

The highlight of the room is the spa pool. This was located inside our studio room and we enjoyed using this pool.

If you can get a good deal, I would recommend staying here. The spa pool is definitely the highlight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

An aging but well maintained property, it presented as clean and neat. The inroom spa is enormous and apparently thermal spring fed, I did not try but judged based on the inlet pipe, sulpha stains and geothermal region.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and carried my bag upstairs once they heard I had an injured knee. My continal breakfast was delivered that night to allow an early rise or sleep in.

Room Tip: Top level serviced by stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had booked a 2 bed roomed apartment 6 months in advance so were a bit surprised to be put in the disabled suite. The whole place is a a bit tired and in need of a makeover. The people in reception were fine. The spa was nice but very noisy later at night when next door filled theirs at 10.30. Did think the beds could have done with a thicker covering over the electric blankets. All in all an average place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

As opposed to some of the reviews we found our downstairs unit quite tidy apart from some dirt in the outdoor spa which was quickly remedied.The manager also was very helpful in trying to make provision for my wife (with a bad knee) to get into the spa by providing a step. I understand that units are in the process of being upgraded. However it took several requests to have the kitchen light replaced. The main attraction is the spas with plenty of hot water. Management were also helpful in recommending eat places that gave free drinks..

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have Spa inside, maybe easier to get into but outdoor stairs awkward in wet weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here as we were keen to try the little private mineral pool in the private patio.
Our hosts greeted us in tank tops and shorts at the front desk. So first impressions were 'not very professional'... and it was all downhill from there.
The room was so desparate for attention, walls were dirty and patched but not finished. Furniture was threadbare and holes in carpet. Bed was old with paperthin mattress protector over electric blanket. There was no duvet cover (just a sheet) to cover the torn duvet inner.
We dumped our bags and went out coming home for a swim and then bed. If it wasn't for the little pool we would have left. The pool was OK, also needing a spruce up and the jets needed attention.
The upstairs rooms are cheaper ( I hate to think what they are like) and they also have pools which are enclosed in a room in the unit, I would suggest you inspect before checking in...
We won't be back, and wouldn't recommend.
The cost of the room was $165NZ, no value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inspection before checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have been touring NZ and had really found all motels to be of high quality. This one, as other reviewers have said, is really tired run down and in need of investment. Don't get me wrong, the room was clean and the people managing it were most helpful and friendly. The building and facilities are really old and not what we expect these days. In its present state it certainly is not worth 4 stars. We also made the mistake of going to Taupo when the iron man competition is on, avoid it unless you are really interested in a whole day of men doing many things to prove how fit they are, there were 1400 entries and so no peace any where.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brusk2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we were in Taupo for a long weekend & had left it late to book accommodation as there were several events on that weekend. however Karaka Tree had a vacancy so we booked online. booking was easy - check in also easy. we were in an upstairs spa studio - decor definitely a bit tired & quite dark - not a lot of natural light, however - we asked for extra pillows - no problem, there is a minibar - but we didn't take advantage of that or the breakfast menu - much cheaper goiing to a local supermarket for snacks etc! the bed was comfy - but quite low - room spacious - & my partner definitely enjoyed the mineral spa pool! we were booked in for 3 nights & unfortunately our room wasn't serviced properly on our final night - old towels removed but the new towels were left on the kitchen table - rubbish not removed & bed not made. not a biggie i guess but the price we were paying per night wasn't exactly budget prices. also it was the middle of summer & very warm - air conditioning rather than a small fan would be lovely. although we were greeted warmly on arrival & during checkout - not sure i would choose to stay here again, some of the 'rules' in the guest compendium seem a little 'big brotherish'

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaquib50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#39 of 68 in Taupo
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.5 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#55 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 68 in Taupo
209 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#17 of 68 in Taupo
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $63 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing