We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karaka Tree Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$138
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$123
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
38
60
65
48
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
60
65
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolnatural mineral waterfolding doorsprivate courtyardroom was clean and comfortablequeen beda great place to stayclose to townkitchenettespaslakefrontnz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 244 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Overrated at four stars.May have been at one time. Lights not working Fridge froze the fruit.Spa pool not serviced,stagant water,quite dangerous.Windows dirty.Badly needs an upgrade.Needs a taxi to get to main street..Had to change rooms as lock broken on ranch slider.Will never stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpio1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Beds Were Extremely Hard got such a sore back. The breakfast we had ordered The Bacon was very dry the bread very soggy Eggs wernt cooked properly, also the shower leaked the toilet paper was like 1 ply. Will Never stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Book this accommodation with AirNZ airports which was rated 4 star, however was disappointed on arrival as motel is far from 4 star rating. Rooms were tidy and clean, bathroom small, spa bath was in a separate room. Motel isn't in walking distance to main shopping area but is close to the lake for a swim.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shals27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Karaka Tree Motel during the weekend of the Taupo Half Ironman in December. We found the staff friendly and the motel clean and tidy. The two beds in the lounge were made up as couches so the kids had actual beds to sleep on. The private outdoor hot pool was a great hit with the kids. We were close to town and just had to step out the back gate to see Dad ride past on his bike during the race! We would stay here again as it is good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As soon as we drove in to the driveway and saw the place our hearts sank. It looked tired and grubby. We were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist though. However when we saw our room we were very disappointed. It was tired, daggy and old. There was minimal kitchen utensils so cooking was useless. Paint was peeling off the walls, the light was just a bulb in the ceiling with hundreds of dead insects caught in cobwebs. So glad we only had to stay one night,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews