We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Karaka Tree Motel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the Karaka Tree Motel!!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a great place to stay, good value for money, Excellent friendly staff and lovely in room spa, would definitely recommend this motel to anyone!
The rooms were a good size, and had a very comfortable bed. Minibar was well stocked with everything we needed.
The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating, and there seemed to be a number of very friendly guests also, indicating they attract similar guests to the staff there. Love this motel and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments wayne and we love to have you and your partner back anytime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    62
    46
    27
See reviews for
83
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Karaka Tree Motel last week on the way to Turoa for a couple of days skiing. We have 2 little kids 6 & 8 years old. The rooms were large, clean and had everything you needed. I travel a lot around the world, at least overseas once a month and stay at all kinds of hotels. One thing I know to be true about how clean a place to be is by how clean the glass, etc. are in the rooms and I have to say the plates, glass, everything at the Karaka were very clean, I didn't feel like I had to re-clean the glasses before I took a drink. The main feature of the motel for us was the DEEP MINERAL SPA POOL, which was very private and fills up with hot natural mineral water in a few minutes. It was so deep and felt sooooo good that I will always stay at the Karaka on all trips requiring a stay in Taupo. I would highly recommend this motel for business travelers as well as it has a lot of good parking, easy access to the town, is right next to the lake, the rooms are quiet and with the spa you can have a deep relax to unwind for the day. Other's comments might say that the motel is a bit tied and needs a bit of renovation, well to those people I suggests they go and check into a 5 star international hotel and PAY THE MONEY! This motel is not tied, it is lovely and warm and a great deal. The family who run it have a small young family of their own and they are the salt of the earth, they made a really nice cooked breakfast for us just like Mum does. This is a great place to stay and enjoy! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get that spa pools filled up and yourself soaking as soon as you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Morning Nigel,
Thank you so much for the great review its nice to know that our guests are enjoying their stay and that we are making them feel welcome, we are new to this and it makes me happy that we are making a difference even if it is just a little bit. we both hope that you do return as we would love to have you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Shona and Matt [managers] immediately radiated welcome and warmth to weary travellers. They instantly connected with my wife and I [former moteliers], and upon hearing our request, offered their options smartly. The room was large with comfortable furnishings and a hot mineral spa pool out the back in an enclosed and private courtyard. The bed was warm and comfortable and yet the rooms were not well lit. Breakfast was hot and on time. Cleaners need a good kick if they are to maintain quality. We think the room was reasonably priced and the service of a high quality. Would recommend to all.

C and S

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you calvin, we love to hear our feed back and deal with what needs to be addressed. we hope to see yourself and your lovely wife again and hope your moving went well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matamata
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

when we first arrived the girl at reception was friendly and recognised us by a special request we had which was nice and made it feel more personal. when getting to the room it was spacious, clean, and the separate spa room was so good. its safe to say this was the nicest spa we have had. upon request, the kitchenette was stocked with extra hot choc and no tea and coffee which was greatly appreciated. the bed gave us a comfortable nights sleep, and it was nice and quiet. we requested room service for breakfast and that was delivered to our room right on time and was fresh and hot. so overall this hotel was excellent value for money and a really good experience and I will have no problems recommending this place to any of my family and friends. thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our overnight stay here was great. Friendly helpful and informative staff.
Spa pool was fantastic just outside on the deck but private would definetly go back and stay.The room was very comfortable with a good shower and good value for money plenty of towels etc which sometimes you dont seem to get in some motels.
Debbie L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I didn't book this, and it probably wouldnt have been my choice, but we ended up here because of wider family considerations. They have larger family units with 2, 3 rooms which is great for a family. I and daughter stayed in one of the upstairs standard size suites. However the rooms were..."tired" in terms of furnishings and decor.
I thought for the price it was not worth it.

Good points...bed was comfortable and clean, so had a good nights sleep. The spa is a mineral one, so you get that mineral smell , but its hot and great to soak in after a long drive or day out in the brisk winter weather.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you a peep of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for a night for $120NZD.It was nice to see a young couple managing the motel. They had been in there role for 6 wks. We stayed upstairs. Nice to have a spa in your own unit. Few things needed doing tho. The spa is visible to neighbours or passing motorist. The netting which was the only privacy was only 3/4 long so day or night you could be seen hopping in and out of your tub. We actually had to turn the lights off at night thruout the unit to get in for a soak. I would recommend a longer netting (only ten bucks) or a screen.
Cleaning needs looking into. It was a bit shabby in the cleaning. In the kitchen, the sink hole had food residue.And so did the sink in the bath.
The kitchen needs a bit more attention. We had breakfast in the breakfast bowls provided but the dish was quite shallow to eat out of. The milk spilt. I havent actually seen shallow bowls in motels for a long time.
The cupboard with dustpan and shovel,iron,blankets, needed a quick tidy up. It looked like it was all shoved in there in a hurry instead of put away.
Minibar needs different chips,chocolates and lollies. Bluebird chips is popular.

Room Tip: If you choose bottom units, remember you can be seen from above units
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#36 of 69 in Taupo
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#28 of 69 in Taupo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#34 of 69 in Taupo
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phoenix Resort
Phoenix Resort
#42 of 69 in Taupo
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Property: Karaka Tree Motel
Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing