We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
39
62
65
49
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
62
65
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolnatural mineral waterprivate courtyardroom was clean and comfortablea great place to staykitchenettebedroomspas
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Shona and Matt [managers] immediately radiated welcome and warmth to weary travellers. They instantly connected with my wife and I [former moteliers], and upon hearing our request, offered their options smartly. The room was large with comfortable furnishings and a hot mineral spa pool out the back in an enclosed and private courtyard. The bed was warm and comfortable and yet the rooms were not well lit. Breakfast was hot and on time. Cleaners need a good kick if they are to maintain quality. We think the room was reasonably priced and the service of a high quality. Would recommend to all.

C and S

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you calvin, we love to hear our feed back and deal with what needs to be addressed. we hope to see yourself and your lovely wife again and hope your moving went well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

when we first arrived the girl at reception was friendly and recognised us by a special request we had which was nice and made it feel more personal. when getting to the room it was spacious, clean, and the separate spa room was so good. its safe to say this was the nicest spa we have had. upon request, the kitchenette was stocked with extra hot choc and no tea and coffee which was greatly appreciated. the bed gave us a comfortable nights sleep, and it was nice and quiet. we requested room service for breakfast and that was delivered to our room right on time and was fresh and hot. so overall this hotel was excellent value for money and a really good experience and I will have no problems recommending this place to any of my family and friends. thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our overnight stay here was great. Friendly helpful and informative staff.
Spa pool was fantastic just outside on the deck but private would definetly go back and stay.The room was very comfortable with a good shower and good value for money plenty of towels etc which sometimes you dont seem to get in some motels.
Debbie L

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I didn't book this, and it probably wouldnt have been my choice, but we ended up here because of wider family considerations. They have larger family units with 2, 3 rooms which is great for a family. I and daughter stayed in one of the upstairs standard size suites. However the rooms were..."tired" in terms of furnishings and decor.
I thought for the price it was not worth it.

Good points...bed was comfortable and clean, so had a good nights sleep. The spa is a mineral one, so you get that mineral smell , but its hot and great to soak in after a long drive or day out in the brisk winter weather.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you a peep of the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Trazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for a night for $120NZD.It was nice to see a young couple managing the motel. They had been in there role for 6 wks. We stayed upstairs. Nice to have a spa in your own unit. Few things needed doing tho. The spa is visible to neighbours or passing motorist. The netting which was the only privacy was only 3/4 long so day or night you could be seen hopping in and out of your tub. We actually had to turn the lights off at night thruout the unit to get in for a soak. I would recommend a longer netting (only ten bucks) or a screen.
Cleaning needs looking into. It was a bit shabby in the cleaning. In the kitchen, the sink hole had food residue.And so did the sink in the bath.
The kitchen needs a bit more attention. We had breakfast in the breakfast bowls provided but the dish was quite shallow to eat out of. The milk spilt. I havent actually seen shallow bowls in motels for a long time.
The cupboard with dustpan and shovel,iron,blankets, needed a quick tidy up. It looked like it was all shoved in there in a hurry instead of put away.
Minibar needs different chips,chocolates and lollies. Bluebird chips is popular.

Room Tip: If you choose bottom units, remember you can be seen from above units
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews