We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Shona and Matt [managers] immediately radiated welcome and warmth to weary travellers. They instantly connected with my wife and I [former moteliers], and upon hearing our request, offered their options smartly. The room was large with comfortable furnishings and a hot mineral spa pool out the back in an enclosed and private courtyard. The bed was warm and comfortable and yet the rooms were not well lit. Breakfast was hot and on time. Cleaners need a good kick if they are to maintain quality. We think the room was reasonably priced and the service of a high quality. Would recommend to all.

C and S

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you calvin, we love to hear our feed back and deal with what needs to be addressed. we hope to see yourself and your lovely wife again and hope your moving went well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    62
    46
    27
See reviews for
83
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
matamata
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

when we first arrived the girl at reception was friendly and recognised us by a special request we had which was nice and made it feel more personal. when getting to the room it was spacious, clean, and the separate spa room was so good. its safe to say this was the nicest spa we have had. upon request, the kitchenette was stocked with extra hot choc and no tea and coffee which was greatly appreciated. the bed gave us a comfortable nights sleep, and it was nice and quiet. we requested room service for breakfast and that was delivered to our room right on time and was fresh and hot. so overall this hotel was excellent value for money and a really good experience and I will have no problems recommending this place to any of my family and friends. thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our overnight stay here was great. Friendly helpful and informative staff.
Spa pool was fantastic just outside on the deck but private would definetly go back and stay.The room was very comfortable with a good shower and good value for money plenty of towels etc which sometimes you dont seem to get in some motels.
Debbie L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I didn't book this, and it probably wouldnt have been my choice, but we ended up here because of wider family considerations. They have larger family units with 2, 3 rooms which is great for a family. I and daughter stayed in one of the upstairs standard size suites. However the rooms were..."tired" in terms of furnishings and decor.
I thought for the price it was not worth it.

Good points...bed was comfortable and clean, so had a good nights sleep. The spa is a mineral one, so you get that mineral smell , but its hot and great to soak in after a long drive or day out in the brisk winter weather.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you a peep of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for a night for $120NZD.It was nice to see a young couple managing the motel. They had been in there role for 6 wks. We stayed upstairs. Nice to have a spa in your own unit. Few things needed doing tho. The spa is visible to neighbours or passing motorist. The netting which was the only privacy was only 3/4 long so day or night you could be seen hopping in and out of your tub. We actually had to turn the lights off at night thruout the unit to get in for a soak. I would recommend a longer netting (only ten bucks) or a screen.
Cleaning needs looking into. It was a bit shabby in the cleaning. In the kitchen, the sink hole had food residue.And so did the sink in the bath.
The kitchen needs a bit more attention. We had breakfast in the breakfast bowls provided but the dish was quite shallow to eat out of. The milk spilt. I havent actually seen shallow bowls in motels for a long time.
The cupboard with dustpan and shovel,iron,blankets, needed a quick tidy up. It looked like it was all shoved in there in a hurry instead of put away.
Minibar needs different chips,chocolates and lollies. Bluebird chips is popular.

Room Tip: If you choose bottom units, remember you can be seen from above units
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here last winter and it was fine. We highly enjoyed the spa pool inside the room which was perfect in winter at the end of a long day out in the cold. Would definitely stay again and the room was accommodating and comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in a one bedroom room, with a private courtyard with our own patio furniture and mineral spa. Gorgeous place to unwind. Very sunny bedroom and comfy bed, fantastic kitchenette, family sized table and chairs, two bed/couches in lounge and of course sky tv. Off street parking was rather tight, but appreciated. Not a huge distance from town by car. They are under new management, and are extremely helpful and obliging to most requests. We could have stayed for a lengthy stay if our schedules enabled us to. The only complaint was that the lounge did not have adequate lighting. No centre of room light. Only small downlights around the edges. Had to go to the bedroom to read the paper in the sun! Highly recommended to those who appreciate a no fuss, hassle-free stay.

Room Tip: Stairs are noisy with people using them. You can hear people walking above you if you are on the gro...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#36 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#28 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#34 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phoenix Resort
Phoenix Resort
#40 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Property: Karaka Tree Motel
Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing