We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some upkeep”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at 14 different places during a recent 3 week holiday in the North Island. This place was disappointing. The sheets were worn, the pillows were worn out and the crockery was chipped. The TV was almost antique. Compared to other places we stayed for the same price, this was not good value and the very unappealing looking hot-tub doesn't compensate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Karaka Tree Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I thought the room was okay but very dated for price. I wouldn't by choice return here. The person at reception was nice enough but I guess that doesn't compensate for all else. The pool was a little bit grubby looking and very hard to get into when you have knee problems so it felt for me a little unsafe.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The only thing this place has going for it is the thermal pools, the remainder of the room was pretty grotty, the sofa bed was probably clean enough to sit on but we covered it with a blanket just in case as it looked filthy and was about to fall apart. It's beyond the owners control but the smell of burning rubbish coming from the marae next door didn't add to the ambience. Well past its use by date. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dogsbreath08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We lived in taupo for 2 years and often went to a spa hotel in rotorua to get away. When we couldn't be bothered to drive an hour we would stay at karaka tree as it is just outside town so felt like it was 'away'. The motel is by no means perfect but we returned a few times for a treat. The rooms are a little dated but we found them to be clean and comfortable. The biggest draw is the hot tub. Most spa hotels have a spa bath but this is the only place we've found a natural hot pool in the room. The tub is not luxurious but it is spacious and churns out fresh natural hot mineral water. There are many restaurants nearby if you fancy a stroll, alternatively many offer delivery. We no longer live in the beautiful taupo but if we return for a visit we would definitely check in at karaka tree again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very disappointed room was dated and dirty/filthy found discarded ear plug and can of alcohol behind curtain. appliances were so dated felt like i was on set of Mad Men .
Staff very friendly spring pool was the highlight .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have stayed in two different upstairs rooms previously and last week stayed in their biggest available room. There were 8 of us in the end and it was algood, we love going away with the family so our emphasis is on the people, the accommodation is secondary to that, awesome mineral spa, love them, it was inground and outside on the bottom floor. I never really noticed the road noise, even though we were bordering on the Napier taupo road, I guess mid week the trucks could get noisy if u in a spa but weekends the road was fairly quiet.the staff were great, we had a mix up at the very beginning but the front desk just sorted it, and hey presto no problem.any ways both mornings we went outside that carpark was full, so people are going there.our room was $260 per nite so for the amount of people that was great.We had 3 different vehicles and there was ample parking, (also right out front on roadside) I recommend this place if your wanting to go away for the weekend have fun and adventure around then you come back chill out in the spa and crash out, our beds were good too.but if your wanting a luxury room to chill out in all weekend then it may not be for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveandAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Motel & facilities are looking a little tired but extra friendly staff & a great self fill mineral pool more than make up for what may be lacking attention in other areas.
Nothing seems to be too much trouble to the staff.
We have stayed before & will be back .
Unit could definitely benefit with an upgraded TV in the lounge area & another TV in the bedroom would be a real bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMumWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#23 of 69 in Taupo
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#45 of 69 in Taupo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#21 of 69 in Taupo
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $70 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing