We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired & Worn Out”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tired & Worn Out”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here a few years back & were quite happy. Spent 2 nights here recently because of closeness to an event & because it has a large thermal mineral pool in the room. But we wished we'd paid a bit more for somewhere else. The pool itself was ok. Needs a thorough clean & spruce up in spa room, stained pool tiles, grotty plug chain, cobwebs with resident spiders in corner, fly spots on roof, light bulb had a murky soup in the bottom! Window ledges rotting under obvious attempts to fix. Shower head fell apart at first touch & had pitiful water pressure. For $140 a night a decent shower with a handheld rose would be a welcome facility. Didn't use the kitchen which seemed adequate, except the doors didn't open back far enough to open the fridge door. TV old & snowy. Sheets were clean but bed requires replacement as indents over years of use are evident. Room was hot & stuffy, & we didn't want to leave window open for security purposes. However, the lady at reception had a lovely manner & smile. One of the housekeeping staff we met on departure was also very friendly. Its a shame, when this could be a great little motel. Just spend some $$ on updating the tired & worn out rooms & you could get return bookings with your clientele. Sorry but we won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezDesignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    63
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
92
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed in a standard studio at $155 for the night. Parking is very tight. Motel was very dated (these are old motels albeit some updating has been done). The TV was an old 20 inch unit with poor sound and very poor colour on a mount which had the laminate pealing off. Some of the cups were not washed and the desert bowls were the smallest Ive seen - we had to eat our breakfast from the mixing bowls!. The only good part of these motels is the thermal hot tubs, however they are very noisy to fill and empty, the tubs are old discoloured and dated, and the thin net curtains are see through at night! Overall very poor value by comparison with a host more modern motels for the same or lower price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here during our journey south. The mineral spa pool was very good. The rooms are dated and in need of renewal. Clean sheets and facilities though.

Room Tip: Call the proprietor for your needs as they appear to have different room configurations for differin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenDragon338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We Recently travelled around North Island and this Place had the most Comfortable beds of all the places we stayed (even better than the 4.5 Star Chain Hotel we stayed in), not to mention the nice relaxing spa pool with relaxing mineral waters that seemed to work wonders!

Melissa was a very friendly and very knowledgeable host which was very refreshing after the stays we had at a few other places that offered faked smiles and dispassionate staff. Melissa was great at pointing us in the right direction for everything we needed to find with a smile on her dial, Great Kiwi Hospitality! Bumped into a couple of her housekeeping staff on check-out as well and we were greeted with a nice friendly good morning and smiles all round.

Rooms were nice and clean also, with the folding of the towel into a bow shape in the shower a very nice touch!

Made for a VERY enjoyable last night of our trip, felt very relaxed and revitalized for the trip home. We will definitely be returning again in the near future!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and get the bigger rooms if they have them available, Very nice and Spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucklanderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

One nights stay on our way to Auckland. A disappointing stay - small TV in the room that most channels were snowy and the only one we could see had distorted colors across the top of picture. Mineral spa pool was not used as there were no curtains on the window and we did not want to use it at night for fear of being seen by the neighbors. Way overpriced for the condition of the room. On a good note, the bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Not likely to stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Karaka Tree Motel is very well located, on the lakeside. We had a room with one bedroom and 2 beds in the lounge area for the kids (which doubled as couches during the day). The room was nice - everything was clean. The shower was good and the bed was comfortable. The mineral pool we had was new and it was very nice, in a fenced courtyard area located beside the bedroom. The kids loved the mineral pool in particular. The room was quite warm and stuffy at night - there was a fan in the lounge but it didn't do much. I brought a small desk fan with me in anticipation of this and put it beside my bed which helped a lot!

The room was nice but I think it was overpriced.The mineral pool was good but I don't think it really justified the cost of the room ($200). I would probably stay there again but only for a more competitive rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed there last week in the 2 bedroom SPA suite at the other end of motel from the reception. Having read the reviews, we were a bit hesitant but decided to go for it because of the mineral hot spa tub. The criticisms in some of the previous reviews were true, but that didn't really spoil it for us.

The lady at the reception was very friendly.

The room was quite clean. We had clean beds and bed sheets. The utensils were clean, but we still washed the ones we were using before using them.

The SPA tub was cracked (some attempts at repairing it were apparent by the patching attempts), but tub was still usable. It was so enjoyable sitting in the spa after a day of visiting the sights, that we extended our stay by another day. The proximity to the beach at Lake Taupo was another deciding factor. After using the SPA at night, we were able to sleep really soundly. However, be aware that the SPA is not allowed to be used after 9pm for the upstairs units.

The TV was a 20 inch CRT, not even LCD. However, to be honest in the 10 days we were in NZ, we didn't watch any TV (there were so many other more interesting things to do), so it didn't really matter to us.

Doing the laundry was inconvenient as the laundry room closed at 9pm, and we normally got in around 9.30pm because we chose to drive to the sights in Rotorua instead of staying there due to the smell.

The road outside was quite busy, and we had problems getting out of the motel the first day. We did what the other guests did the rest of our stay, and went out using the road at the back gate which was easier.

All in all, it was a great stay, and we'll do it again if we have the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can use the SPA pool after 9pm but not those on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#48 of 69 in Taupo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
321 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Property: Karaka Tree Motel
Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing