We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very freindly and comfy”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Cant understand those pommy knockers. We stayed at karaka for a couple nights and we loved it. Very friendly owner at reception gave us great ideas about things to do. Yes the block walls were dated and the hideaway kitchen was a bit old fashioned (just take the doors off karaka), but the way to judge a place is on how confy it was. it was spotless clean and we were made to feel right at home from the mo we walked in. Stay at karaka if you enjoy comfy home feeling stay somewhere else if your a moaner who always finds fault with everything.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ozruls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2007

My husband and i have just got back from staying at Karaka Tree Motel and all i can say is it was excellent!

From the moment we stepped inside, the ambience of the Motel was delightful.

Our hosts greeted us at reception and treated us like royalty - what a treat!

We got shown to our room which was beautuful and had a wonderful nights sleep.

Breakfast was lovely and certainly someting i would recommend.

Having read the review before mine, i wonder whether it's the same Motel they are talking about - what a contrast to my stay!!

Highly recommended and value for money... 5 stars!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CharlieJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We received a friendly welcome when we arrived at this motel. But when we opened the door to our spacious room, our faces fell. Painted breezeblock walls, very dated furnishings, a hideaway kitchenette that screamed 1970s. The bathroom was quite dated but served their purpose without problem. I used the spa bath for the novelty and was very happy with it (although I'm not sure if an entire wall made up of mirrors is necessary - bit tacky). This was one of two rooms on our trip that we determined to spend as little time in as possible. We left early the next morning. By comparison with other motels, this was overpriced for the condition and quality offered.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Just returned from Taupo. We had originally booked the Karaka Tree for a 3 night stay at $155 pn. Arrived and the hosts were lovely, freindly and very welcoming.

We were shown our 1 bed suite but unfortunately within moments we were very dissapointed.

Previous reviews on Tripadvisor read positive giving it a '5'. I'm really not sure how this can be.

My husband initially refused to waste time searching for alternative accommodation but eventally agreed to cancel at our earliest convenience for the following 2 nights and attempt to locate somewhere else.

As the host Roger was so wonderful, we didn't have the heart to share our honest reason for cancelling however, he was accommodating and fortunately we stayed for just the 1 night.

We were recommended the Te Moenga Lodge by a Taupo local (see my review as we stayed here for 2 night's in the 'Elk' chalet... the very best recommendation ever, fabulous!!!! Plus for only an extra $25 pn).

Our 1 bed suite at Karaka Tree was far from spotlessly clean. All the bedding was clean however the top quilt on the main bed in the lounge area smelt like it hadn't been washed for some time...yuck! I proceeded to remove it prior to our toddler and baby going near it. The setee was grubby and uncomfortable, Kitchen area was in desperate need of updating, The microwave was externally filthy. The bathroom was tiny although towels were nice and clean. The heater hidden by the table and chairs was a disgrace re: cleanliness. The bedroom skirting board and carpet was dreadful near the left single bed with large nails clearly visible and sticking out dangerously.

My husband named it 'Prisoner Cell Block T' (Taupo) as the walls were painted breeze blocks rather than plastered walls. No sound proofing therefore, were kept awake by fellow holiday makers until gone midnight.

We are from the UK spending 1 yr working in Auckland. We have stayed at numerous 4* and 5* motels. Unfortunately, this is the worst. Karaka Tree's website seems very nice and Tripadvisors reviews are the same. I can not fathem this out. I can not grasp how the Karaka Tree can be a 4* either. Personally I would rate it a 2 * at most... sorry Karaka Tree.

However, once again the hosts were wonderful and the mineral spa bath (after I cleaned it) was a pleasure to soak in.

Saying all that, it seems you can get some cheap deals here as have seen it at $115 on the net since our return. All I can say is, you obviously get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbiSamAladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We had an upstairs studio room which was more than adequate...great having the separate spa room off the lounge area... lovely to relax in with a glass of wine - the motels are facing the wrong way to get any views of the lake and too far to walk to town but a great place to stay..

  • Stayed: April 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

After the drive from Auckland, we got checked in, no problems, and got shown to our room. There was four of us - and it was great. Especially loved the private mineral pool off the master bedroom - perfect for us all sitting there at midnight with a glass of wine!! Only drawback is that its too far into the main Taupo town to walk - thought we could do it and it was a good 45 minute walk. Just across the road to the lake which offers, in my opinion, New Zealands best swim. Planning a trip down the line again soon and we will deinately be back here!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank 388Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#44 of 68 in Taupo
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#12 of 68 in Taupo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#43 of 68 in Taupo
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#36 of 68 in Taupo
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 68 in Taupo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $68 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing