We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #62 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We travel in a family of 5, mom, dad and 3 children. We rent a car from Auckland airport and drove about 4 hours plus to Lake Taupo. Location wise it is not too bad, easy to find. It is very near to Countdown, walking distance. Countdown is their store where you get groceries. The lake itself is down the hill. If you want the lake view, this is not where you want to stay. To walk is not that far either. We drove to everywhere we go, but just as an estimation how long it will take to walk to the lake, I’m guessing it can be up to 20 minutes. The small town of Lake Taupo, where night life and everything else are nearby, down the hill towards the lake.

There are only a ground floor and the 1st floor. Our room is on the 1st floor right at the stairs. Our room is pretty spacious. Considering there are 5 of us. 1 small room with twin bed and the bigger room which is connected to the kitchen are where the queen bed and a single bed are. The kitchen is equipped with stove, a small fridge and kitchen ware. We make our own breakfast and packed lunch every day. Having the kitchen is very convenient. The down side is the kitchen has no exhaust fan to suck out the smoke from frying (eggs, and bacon the typical hot breakfast meal). Or maybe there was but the exhaust fan was not working as well as it should. The whole room except for the small room with the twin bed where we can close the door will be filled with smokes, whenever we cook something. There is also a balcony and behind the motel, they have a space where the guest can have their own bbq. Best of all, the wifi is free!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Akit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    26
    11
    14
See reviews for
43
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just needed a bed for the night to break up a long car trip and Barcelona fitted the bill.

Standard motel with no surprises. We had a one bedroom unit with an additional queen and sofa bed in the lounge.

Very clean room - quite hot with no air con at the time of year we were there.

Despite being there well after the advertised check in time the room was not ready and we had to wait which was not great,

Location was good being close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGHRNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Service is very perfect. The facilities are bit old.Bedrooms are upstairs and toilet downstairs which is not convenient during night, Beddings are not too bad.The position is good,quite close to i-site area which close to playground and lake.

Room Tip: not expensive for 7 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very welcoming Owners and lovely couple. Nice location and very handy to all amenities - shops, restaurants, supermarkets..etc. While the rooms were genuinely tidy, ,the kitchen area & cupboards could have done with a good cleanup. Coffee & tea-making facilities & supplies were not quite stocked up. Had to get some from the office.

Very nice bbq area & great outdoor socialising area. We will definitely stay there again and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Afa030456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Trying to find accommodation in Taupo one week out from xmas led us to booking in here. We stayed in the 2b villa. Friendly proprietors/staff, bedrooms upstairs were big, unit was clean and tidy (except for the soap).The guys used the spa pool with no complaints.The best thing going for this place is the location-5min walk to town. The unit is dated and could do with a face lift. We found the beds to be extremely uncomfortable. We also had a leftover bar of soap in the shower - we stayed on the 28th so it must've been the same piece of soap - Yuk!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was my own fault. Trying to find accommodation in Taupo Dec 27th and phoning the night before didn't leave a lot of options.
Luckily the Barcelona had a 2 bedroom Villa still available.
The place was probably built in the 70's, still pretty original, reasonably clean and tidy although the left over bar of soap in the shower was a bit off putting.
Beds were soft and spongy but the linen was clean and crisp.
Went to use the kettle but it was gone, only the base was left. The staff replaced it with a brand new one quickly and without fuss.
Place needs a bit of a refresh, buy some caps for the taps in the bathroom, a lick of paint on the walls would go a long way.
Price was good for 3 people in 2 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were only stopping in Taupo for a night and wanted somewhere fairly cheap but not too grotty, centrally located, with free wireless, and The Barcelona fitted the bill nicely. The place is not modern but it is spacious and clean and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#42 of 69 in Taupo
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#56 of 69 in Taupo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Property: Barcelona Motel
Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing