We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Huka Falls tracks

Huka Falls tracks
Book In Advance
More Info
$231.21*
and up
Taupo Adventure Combo Tour including Scenic Helicopter Flight
More Info
$163.87*
and up
Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride and Whitewater Rafting
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We approached the falls on foot from a track that started at the cafe with the big helicopter out the front and looking back this was easily the best way to do it. You could hear the roar of the water before you could see the falls and as you get closer catch glimpses of the river and falls themselves. There are several lookout spots and all of them are good although you fully appreciate the ferocity of the water when you stand on the bridge above them. It was disappointing that the staff at the canteen were less than welcoming so watch out for that but that is probably the only negative.
All in all a great experience and one I would definitely recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joinvenice61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,015
    1,521
    324
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning waterfall and river”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We managed to find our way to the observation platform near the falls. The power of the river and the falls was astounding. Luckily we were there when the jet boat made its pass - looked great. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devonlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great to see”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We viewed from the top then did the jet boat trip at a cost. We have done jet boat trips before, so donuts were not knew to us. If you have done donuts in jet boat before, you need not do this jet boat tour, just view Huka Falls from the platforms. People who had not been in jet boats before loved the thrill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovelockAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not much of a drop, more a series of extreme rapids really but the boiling water is a beautiful turquoise colour and well worth the visit if you are passing. You can see the falls from viewing areas on both sides of the river.

A jet boat came up the river while we were there and I was hoping he was going to attempt to go up the falls but, sadly, this wasn't to be. It would have been extremely dangerous but I think it would have been worthwhile to entertain the viewers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“FUN, Fun, fun!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We did both the helicopter and Jet boat tour of Huka Falls and both were amazing!

Thrill seekers will lover the Jet boat's sharp turns and swirls and the scenery from both the water and the air is breathtaking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keiran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Falls tracks also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Falls tracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing