We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, property & hospitality”
Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, property & hospitality”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great location for a long weekend in Taupo. Very private, fantastic lake views, lots of native birdlife, nice place to go for winter walks! The house was fantastic with all the basic food items (oil, flower etc). Without these you never want to cook but with them there it was a pleasure to cook as the kitchen had all the equipment you have at home.Very enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Thanks Peg for your great hospitality. The accommodation was very well appointed set in a beautiful spot in Taupo. We had a great long weekend and will definately be back. Best wishes and congratulations on offering such lovely accommodation for the discerning holiday maker travelling to NZ!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Point Villas are located in a tranquil and secure gated environment a short 10 minute drive from Taupo. My initial impressions upon entering the villa were sheer excitment and delight given the quality of the decor and the stunning view with the infinity pool in the foreground. The secure environment provides a fantastic location for a family break given the number of activities available such as kayaking on the lake (and being able to view the stunning Maori carvings), walks along the lake foreshore, tennis, fishing swimming, etc, etc.

A real highlight of the stay was a hot bath on a rainy afternoon with full floor to ceiling glass windows overlooking the lake and native bush - lovely.

All needs where fully catered for and if anything was required the friendly and helpful hosts were only too happy to address your needs.

We enjoyed the stay so much, we changed our travel plans to enable us to stay another night.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Right from when we made the booking to our actual stay, every aspect of the point villas exceeded our expectations. When we booked they were flexible with our check in and check out times and as we were staying for more than 3 days we were given a reduced rate. When we arrived we couldn't believe the setting...it was truely magnificent...nestled in amongst the bush and overlooking the most beautiful bay with a small island in the middle offset against blue green waters. Just across from us were Tennis courts and all around us wonderful bush tracks leading down to the rocks, little beaches and old moari caves. The environment is filled with native bush, plants and birdlife. We were able to kayak around the rocks with kayaks provided. The Villas themselves were first class.....tasteful interiors, beautiful furniture, the most comfortable beds...absolutely everything felt luxurious. The bathrooms were a feature in themselves...fully glassed and looking into the bush or a rock waterfall. Our kids had a fantastic time on the beaches, in the kayaks and exploring the bush tracks. The views over the whole estate are just the thing to leave you feeling inspired. We will definately be going back to re experience what was a very special experience.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinaa199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2004

I was looking for a place in Taupo for a family of 2 with 2 kids and for my parents that were coming from Europe down to New Zeland to enjoy the nature and really relax around a lake.

If you look into the rest of website you'll find another review that I just posted regarding a place in the Cook Islands. The deal with my parents was to stay 4-5 days in NZ to enjoy the nature and rest after the trip from Europe and then go to the Cook to have the warm weather (which can be a bit of a problem in NZ).
Choosing the Point Villas was a bit of a luck and a lot of looking around on the Internet. We wanted something with privacy so not really a hotel (also because of the kids) with nice views, close to the lake with possibilities of trout fishing and not to far to the city for out dinners.
For us the Point villas were perfect. They are brand new villas with state of the art equipment and architecture, sublime views of the nature around (of course the lake views are stunning but the bathrooms with garden views like in Japan are amazing). They are located in the most exclusive private development around Taupo (we got that from the real estate agents in town looking at prices of property there) where sections are in the million plus range and houses in the 2 million plus meaning you have security and access to tennis canoes...the villas are stocked which means that you get everything for breakfast but you need to put them on the table. We were happy not to have staff as long as we didn't need to go to the supermarket all the time and that was great because everything is very well executed.

The weather was a bit cold (August in Taupo is right the middle of winter) but everything in the house is cosy for winter with warm fireplaces and good heating/insulation. Wes till could go trout fishing down (5 minutes walk in the bush) from the place

I would completely recommend the point villas. Perfect spot, perfect ambiance (maybe even better in summer for the other activities like swimming, waterskiing and kayaking on the lake). We have already booked them for January !

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denis_Allais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Property: The Point Villas
Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing