We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Loft
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Booked for one night only as we were passing through heading South, (It is meant to be a holiday!!!!)
Lovely relaxing location with an excellent restaurant walking distance down the road.
We enjoyed an entertaining evening with the other guests over a meal that was quickly arranged over an evening glass of wine courtesy of our hosts.
John and Jane are effortless hosts experienced in making sure you enjoy your stay.
Large comfortable room with good en suite loo etc.
We should have stayed longer...........

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Had a couple of days stop over whilst travelling round the country. We found it by off chance by the vacancy sign outside.
Janet and John were lovely hosts, and full of helpful information. We felt part of the family rather than guests. We were welcomed, and looked after.
We enjoyed our stay so much, that we popped in again on our way back to the airport.
So thanks to you both, we would recommend you anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenandchrissuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Very nice hostess waited up for us quite late into the evening, invited us to a party at their house.

Reasonable prices for taupo where all the lodging has gradually become more expensive. Not really luxurious but a solid, pleasant bandb with very nice service. Quite firm bed, may not suit some tastes.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We had two nights at The Loft in Taupo recently and had a brilliant time. A girlfriend and I were down from Auckland for the weekend to see friends and arrived in the dark on Friday night. Jane and John were waiting for us and showed us to our two separate bedrooms with our own ensuites and televisions. Jane made us a delicious breakfast each morning - cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, toast and plenty of tea and proper coffee. Jane is a real foodie and is happy to cook any special requests. The place is very clean and very warm. Thanks so much for a great weekend.

Mary Ann & Jodi
Auckland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scribbler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Our tour included a night of home stay. We were picked up by John at the designated location. John and Jane are just charming people with a fantastic sense of humor. Timmy, the little dog is such a delight to play with. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in was not the one advertised on their website. It's a small room with 2 single beds. Very limited elbow room and no space to put our stuff. We shared the bathroom with the hosts. It was a bit awkward not to have a private bathroom. Considering it's only one night, we did not feel this to be too much of a hassle. Jane whipped up a fantastic dip with bread for our appetizer and John did up a BBQ dinner which we had chicken drum sticks, venison patties and sausages. There were also 2 kinds of salads. It was a good meal. Taupo was too far to walk to after dinner and as we were here for only one night, we settled in for a good conversation with the other guests instead.

The other couple from our tour who were paired with us got the Bronte Room and it was just the cutest room ever.

  • Liked — Home cooked meal
  • Disliked — Shared bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

Glad we decided to stay just outside of Taupo. Acacia Bay is only 10 mins drive from the centre, nice and peaceful.
Jany & John are great hosts offering advice and help when needed.
The Bay restaurant 10min walk away has a great menu.
Take 'Timmy ' the Jack Russell for a walk he will show you the way to go - it's good exercise.
Wished we stayed longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

we stayed in the Shakespeare room,very large,great views.
this is the only place I have stayed where you sit at the table and see your breakfast being cooked.The owners were very friendly and helpful.We ate at the bistro just down the road which was also very good.
Acacia Bay is just too far to walk into Taupo but is much nicer.
Spotlessly clean and well equipped

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — too far to walk to Taupo
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#38 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.4 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Waters
Acacia Waters
#19 of 33 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Property: The Loft
Address: 3 Wakeman Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loft is a lovely purpose built BnB in Acacia Bay, only 5 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Taupo. We have three spacious rooms available for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing