We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shoreline Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoreline Motel
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Nothing to complain about here. Modern, clean, well equipped, comfortable, friendly manager, not expensive and absolute lakeside. Quiet at night. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Shoreline is as close to perfection as a motel can get, literally exceeding every expectation I had. Early check-in? Sure. Quiet location? Of course. Need a spa next to your bed? No problem - in fact, let's throw in a deck with that. For $100 USD a night, there's simply no competition in town, especially since the rooms have been freshly renovated to a very high standard.

I particularly liked the NZD $16/person room-service breakfast. This represented the best value breakfast we found in New Zealand, and definitely helped before the 4-hour drive down to Wellington. If I'm ever in Napier in the future, I guarantee I'll be booking the Shoreline!

  • Liked — Great amenities and high quality finishes
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinetaupo, Owner at Shoreline Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
Sorry this person has stayed at Shoreline Motel Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

Everything one needs here. Nice spacious clean rooms.
Friendly staff who help with good local knowledge
Super views an added bonus.
No negatives and excellant value.

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — nothing major
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank huskyontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

Wholeheartedly agree that this motel was fantastic. Clean, well-equipped and fantastic linen!

Also loved the adjustable shower head - a touch of luxury!

Free wireless broadband a real plus - though signal need a little boosting - works best in the bedroom nearest reception.

Reasonable price too!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

What a great property! On our recent circuit of the North Island we took pot luck in Napier. While driving into town we spotted the Shoreline Motel had a vacancy, it looked modern and fresh so we stopped. What a gem, while they could not provide us with an ocean view room for the duration of our stay we were more than happy with a rear first floor Studio which avoided the traffic noise and had a sun drenched balcony in the afternoons. The premises were large and spotless. King bed located in its own area with double spa, large lounge area, kitchenette, large bathroom. All staff encountered were friendly and no request was a problem, a nice touch was the welcome basket (juice, biscuits, chiocolates) another was the complimentary newspaper each day that was delivered without the need to request it. Like all the properties in the Marine Parade area it is ideally placed only a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of the City.
While there may be others equally as good it would be very difficult to improve on this property when staying in Napier.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location, Space, Appointments
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal_Tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

We booked for 1 night and stayed 3. We had a suite on the middle floor with small kitchenette, very clean bathroom with shower and had added extras, ie bathrobes, make up removal pads etc. There was also a very nice 2 person spa tub. The bed was large and comfortable and we had a lovely balcony on which to sit and view Hawkes Bay. The motel has a laundry room (coin operated). Whilst we were there there was an earthquake up the road at Gisborne and our motel shook, but not badly. Only downside was the dark green walls and carpet.

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Disliked — Dark green walls
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paraiso358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

This motel is fantastic. It is 10 minutes drive from the centre of Taupo but that means that the property is one of the few in the area that actually has lake Taupo at the end of the garden! They have a barbeque and decking that borders the beach and lake and all guests are welcome to use these facilities. Apparently it is also very good for fishing but I don't fish so wouldn't know!

Our accomodation was fantastic. It had two hugh seperate bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and the most amazing conservatory that had windows across the whole back that gave great views of lake Taupo. The sun beamed into this room and there were lots of comfortable furnishings to sit and lie on.

The owners were lovely and very accomodating. They provided loads of information on what we could do in the area and ended up having a drink with us when we had our barbeque.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taupo
12.3 mi away
Tony's Lodge
Tony's Lodge
#1 of 1 in Te Rangiita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
6.7 mi away
Courtney Motel
Courtney Motel
#47 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
No photo provided
Reads Ritz
#12 of 17 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
14.8 mi away
Motuoapa Lodge Motel
Motuoapa Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Turangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
6.9 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Motel

Property: Shoreline Motel
Address: 144 State Highway 1 | Waitahanui, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Taupo
Shoreline Motel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing