We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillars Retreat
Ranked #1 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a great place. We were en route from Northland to Napier for The Mission Concert and stayed for three fabulous nights. Brian & Gilly are tremendous hosts and their breakfasts astounding. Definitely one of the best B&Bs in New Zealand. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sunset room is the smallest , but still very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your great review, hope you enjoyed the Mission concert this year. We had several guests stopping over for a night to break the journey from Auckland and to explore what Taupo has to offer, before going the short trip to Napier ( 1.5 hours ). We love to serve healthy, tasty breakfasts and i am glad you enjoyed my summer menu with lots of fresh ingredients to start your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 278 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was a great place to stay with wonderful hospitality. The hosts very much strive to make your stay memorable. They were so accommodating. This was our very first bed and breakfast, and it will be very hard to find a better place. It was a beautiful property and very well kept. The rooms were spacious and there were lots of little things added that were very thoughtful. It's a very easy drive to Taupo (about 10 minutes).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing us and confirming that we are only a short drive to the centre of Taupo. We are situated in a rural sub-division only 8km from town, so a quiet peaceful stay is assured.We are happy to drive guests into a restaurant as part of our many services.We hope you will stay at many more Bed & Breakfasts, and indeed come and see us again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I'm so glad to see that The PIllars have made it to #1! We stayed on a stopover from Auckland to Wellington, and were so delighted with the experience - Brian & Gilly are incredibly lovely & welcoming (even though our arrival was a bit of a surprise, as we'd only booked online 30mins before).

The house and grounds were beautiful, we spent the afternoon in the sun swimming, reading by the pool, playing petanque & wandering through the gardens. It's Brian & Gilly that make The Pillars so special though - when you walk in the door, you feel as if you're being welcomed home. It was an absolute pleasure chatting with them over a glass of wine & canapés in the evening, & if the restaurants weren't closing soon we probably would have stayed there all night.

The service at The Pillars is the best I've experienced anywhere in New Zealand, and the home cooking & attention to detail was just superb. I can't wait to visit again sometime - if you're passing through the area, PLEASE don't waste your money on a run of the mill hotel/motel - this is just the loveliest place to stay, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your kind review , and yes, we can accommodate and welcome guests at short notice !
We have a very relaxed atmosphere here at The Pillars Retreat, where our guests can unwind in a quiet garden environment, and feel recharged after a few hours. We enjoy spoiling everyone, and delivering service beyond expectations, with a professional, caring approach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Wonderful hosts and a gorgeous setting. Huge room and the 'best ever' super king bed.
Yummy fresh breakfast and great company.
The hosts went out of their way to ensure our getaway weekend was outstanding.

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for including us in your special weekend away, and i hope you enjoyed the surprise adventure you had planned on the Lake . We certainly had an entertaining chat over breakfast with you both, one that Brian & i will not forget as we have not laughed so much for a long time ! We would be delighted to have you back to stay if you are in Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had booked for an over night stay on our travels through the north Island. Jilly was above and beyond accommodating. She put fresh flowers in our room and homemade biscuits. Sat out by their lovely pool enjoying the gardens. We stayed in their gorgeous suite, the bath was the largest of our whole trip across New Zealand! Yummy full breakfast too. Shouldn't miss this little gem!

Room Tip: The large suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in the Pillars Suite. The garden is full of lilies and other summer flowers at the moment, so no problem finding a bunch to put in every room for our guests to enjoy along with homemade biscuits that i bake most days as they are so popular !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Gilly & Brian are friendly, very welcoming and their home and gardens are stunning! The rooms are beautifully appointed with many extra touches such as fruit, chocolate, home made cookies and a variety of coffee, tea, & other beverage choices.
Our hosts were so interesting & engaging that we made a point of meeting them for the offered 6:00 p.m. glass of wine on both evenings of our stay.
The breakfasts were delicious and again included lovely homemade items such as raspberry muffins and yogurt.
We felt like royalty and definitely wish to return,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dcfrompcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as we did hosting you both. It was lovely to relax with you each evening, and hear about all your adventures in New Zealand and many other countries around the world. Look forward to meeting you again some day, Canada is certainly on our travel list !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A beautiful house in a beautiful setting. 5* accommodation in the Pillars Room, we could have played tennis in the huge bathroom but used the tennis court instead. Brian and Gilly were perfect hosts, genuine friendliness combined with excellent service. Couldn't fault the Pillars. Thoroughly deserves to be No.1 in Taupo.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richardh552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are working hard to be the best accommodations in Taupo, but there is always more we can improve on.We enjoy spoiling our guests and making them feel at ease and relaxed.The Pillars suite that you stayed in certainly has a large bathroom with plenty of space to store suitcases and unpack with a dressing room area as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,152 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
361 reviews
3.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.9 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Retreat

Address: 7 Deborah Rise | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $184 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique purpose built mediteranean style two storied country manor is a short drive from central Taupo, the perfect spot to stop, relax and discover the central north island. The wonderful panoramic mature gardens and surrounding mountains greet you as you enter our front gates. A warm Kiwi welcome awaits from your resident hosts John and Nancy, with a homemade afternoon tea which can be taken in our guest lounge or outside on our sunny patio. Our four self contained, spacious, luxuriously appointed upstairs ensuited bedrooms all with spectacular rural views, Tea & coffee making facilities, along with homemade treats, fresh fruit bowl, TV with USB, underfloor heating, Free Wi-Fi and serviced daily. Guest laundry facilities are available free of charge. An invitation to share a complimentary early evening drink & nibbles and to swap travel stories with other guests is not to be missed. A free shuttle to restaurants is provided, or guests can bring ready made food provisions and eat at home. After a good nights sleep in our peaceful,comfortable beds come and enjoy one of our cooked or continental breakfasts, made with organic or locally sourced ingredients, often from our own garden and mostly homemade. We endeavour to cater for all dietary requirements. Your hosts are happy to discuss and advise on the many sightseeing options in the area, or you could just have a day relaxing around the salt water pool reading a book from our library collection. Children over 13 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pillars Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillars Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing