We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean backpacker”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spend two nights in the lodge and had a very comfortable nice doubleroom. The prices are fair and kitchen and bathroom are very clean. Also the kitchen was well equipped and had plenty of space for all the backpackers. And if it got too crowded there was a barbecue place outside. Free tea and coffee at the reception made our stay even better! And the location is great - a 10 minute walk to the lakeside and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This hostel had friendly staff, nice communal areas and comfy dorm beds. Bathrooms were a bit old and tired, could use an update. Free parking on site. Overall the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. Would recommend staying here again :):)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank ttashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have visited the Rainbow Lodge at the beginning of Feb and I was very happy with the accommodation facilities. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city attractions. I will use the chance to visit them again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hristo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice layout of the inside and outside hang out areas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Walls were a bit thin and could hear many hallway conversations but got quiet enough for the evenings. Loved the suggestion boards of what to do in lake taupo and weekly events board! A little bit far from city centre but they do have rental bikes and grocery store is only 10 min walk and beach is 20-25 min walk.
Free coffee was nice too!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Welcoming, clean. Could have been better kitchen equipment and some new tea and hand towels. Crockery supply needs improving. No cooking oil but lots of spices. Some hobs broken. Quite a few bugs about...could be rectified.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzibob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

All I can say is that I am so glad that we could not get into our first choice hostel (we try to go for the highest rating in BBH) because Rainbow Lodge was fab! Free pick up and drop off from the bus stop, clean rooms and a nice kitchen. The staff were so helpful and offered all sorts of discounts! They were also so friendly, always asking what you had done that day and whether it was good. They made us feel like we were just chilling at home! We stayed for five nights and could have stayed for five more!

The only slightly negative comment I have to make is that between 5 and 8 the kitchen is crazy crowded and with only one oven/limited hobs, it can be quite a task! But with free tea, coffee, salt, spices and the fan atmosphere - it's more than OK!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Room was really nice and clean. Kitchen was big but did get crowded towards dinner time. Staff were really helpful when booking trips (with discounts! $25 sailing trip!) and always asked if you enjoyed it when you got back. They also picked us up and dropped us off at the bus station. Really good stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hellomateyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#19 of 34 in Taupo
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#17 of 34 in Taupo
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Lodge
Silver Fern Lodge
#23 of 34 in Taupo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $35 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing