We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel and brilliant staff.”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel and brilliant staff.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Room was really nice and clean. Kitchen was big but did get crowded towards dinner time. Staff were really helpful when booking trips (with discounts! $25 sailing trip!) and always asked if you enjoyed it when you got back. They also picked us up and dropped us off at the bus station. Really good stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hellomateyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    92
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
81
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Although this was not initially my first choice of hostel, I was glad I stayed here.

Located just 10 minutes pleasant walk from town and the lake, this hostel is ideally situated.

All the communal areas are a good size and everything is clean. The room I had was perfect, with a great comfy bed. Haven't slept so well in ages.

The welcome I received matched the friendly and helpful staff attitude throughout my stay.

I went and did my own things in Taupo, but I know that you can organise a lot of activities through the hostel.

I would definitely recommend staying here if in Taupo, and I'd stay here again if I came back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was a nice hostel in a good location, only a 10 mins max walk into town and only about 5 mins from a supermarket. We had a private double room which was pretty basic but nice enough and comfortable. The kitchen area was also quite nice although it got a little busy at dinner time. The staff all seemed nice enough as well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and people. Very friendly and helpful staff, nisha (so sorry if mis-spelled) was very helpful! Room was pretty basic but a good price. We had a great time will defo stay again if in Taupo.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snewo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spacious, friendly, and very clean sum up this hostel. In a very good location not far from The Warehouse and Pak n Save. Another block or two to get downtown or to the lake. You can hire bikes and book pretty much anything you want to do with the helpful staff. Best and most economic choice in Taupo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 780amy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had to move our original booking to a later date and when we arrived were moved into a makeshift private room which obviously hadn't been used as a room for quite a while. Free pick up and drop off made life easier, The kitchen was large and the adjoining dinning area was massive. Quite close to the main town and loads of DVD's to choose from along with sky tv.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A very nice hostel, situated next to downtown and at a walking distance to the lake. The owner is really nice and helpful. the rooms are very clean and the hostel is very big and with lots of different options and things to do, you can arrange all of your activities there. We loved the hostel and has space for improvement, so thats great. The only downside was the parking, the should give you a spot if their is one, we had spots all week and suddenly they were all taken and had to park outside (however its a very calm and safe zone) . I recommend this hostel and definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Taupo
Base Taupo
#20 of 34 in Taupo
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing