We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could handle a Hostel, but I can't”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish I could handle a Hostel, but I can't”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I almost think that I shouldn't write this review because we realized that we aren't cut out for a hostel. So if you are, ignore this. But if you aren't sure, maybe it may help you.
The good: central location with a short walk to grocery, restaurants, lake, big kitchen area, laundry, bikes for rent, nice staff, off street parking.
The bad: the sheets didn't even fit the bed, let alone with people under them. Pillowcases also didn't fit which is kinda gross. If linen is included, then why no towels? Not super clean feeling. Somewhat fresh piece of gum stuck to headboard, two spiders we killed, lots of dead mosquitoes in bathroom. Bed and pillows not comfortable at all. No AC or fan in room and it was very warm. We also paid for Internet which was also cheap, but reception sucked. Usually only had one bar, sometimes two. Might have been better in common room.
All of the above is somewhat tolerable considering the price. What sealed the deal was the noise. All doors are self closing so they closed hard and were loud. Despite having an en suite, there was a share bath a few doors down, in the middle of the night 2 alternating doors slamming closed every few minutes for at least 30 minutes. Either someone was sick or there was a mad line for the bathroom. Whatever it was it was impossible to sleep.
On a last note, we checked out early and the employee gave us our money back for the nights we didn't stay which they obviously didn't have to do and we are very appreciative.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    91
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
81
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rainbow Lodge is an outstanding hostel that provides everything a backpacker could want. A well supplied kitchen, free tea and coffee and a really good atmosphere around the communal areas. The location is ideal if you're traveling by bus being just a few blocks from the drop off site as well as being close enough to be able to walk to the heart of Taupo. The Staff are very accommodating and approachable and have a lot of knowledge about the area and the things to do around it and are more than happy to assist with bookings and enquiries.
The only thing I would say is that it could do with a foosball table and it was a bit unclear what the go was with the pool table.
Definitely recommend and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joinvenice61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in a 6-bed en-suite dorm, the room and beds were all comfy and clean, and the kitchen facilities were great. The reception staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, recommending activities and booking them for you. Initially I was only planning to stay 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. The only negative I can think of is that the noise of the fan in the en-suite shower is quite annoying when you're trying to sleep off a heavy night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a nice place. It is very close to the Inter City Coach Station drop off site. I stayed in a twin en - suite room and the room is clean and spacious. The kitchen does get busy, but it is large. The reception books tours, adventure activities etc at no extra charge. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If your room overlooks the parking lot where guests can park their car, it may be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice familiar atmosphere and very friendly staff. Optimal location in the centre of Taupo. Meet people from all over the world and do activities together. Free coffee, TV/Video room and DVD rental and car park. Cheap bike rental, laundry etc. available. Plenty of cool activities, eg. football (every sunday), movie evenings with popcorn and mountain hikes. Bad things? Not really! Maybe the pieces of furniture in the kitchen should be replaced and a table football would be nice ;) That's all.. Greetings from Cologne, Andreas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a single ensuite room on weekend of October 27th. The location is great- 5 mins into town, lake, supermarket and also en route to the hot pools and huka falls walkway- about 15 mins to start of walkway.

Staff here are superb and will do anything to help. Super friendly and can provide an abundance of information regarding activities and things to do. They can also book things for you too.

Rooms are simple but fine. Busy sociable hostel - so don't expect an overly quiet stay here. Very friendly place to stay and facilities are good.

Free coffee is actually very nice too!!

Overall a great stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElenaE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rainbow Lodge is a warm friendly hostel with great atmosphere and nice staff! Nice kitchen/lounge and rooms. would recommend to anyone passing by Taupo. Just a few minutes walk into town.
....................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luffsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#16 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing