We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit expensive for a student type level of comfort.”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bit expensive for a student type level of comfort.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Bit overpriced. Not had much love and attention recently. There's lots on offer and the showers are great, but the bathroom was let down by the light fixture dangling across the mirror, also the light in the room had broken glass in it.

Just taking the money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    94
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
84
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Lovely hostel, great atmosphere, more than helpful staff, go out of there way to help you. Lots to do in Taupo, the hostel booked and organised all our trips. Kitchen is very big, but got very busy between 6-8pm. Loved the free sauna and sky tv. Rooms, clean and comfortable, strongly recommend you pay extra $2 and get en-suite bathroom. 24 hour kitchen as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddytraveller789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Only stayed one night but could have stayed more. Stayed in a twin room. Beds in room were more like those in a hotel than a backpackers accomodation. Kitchen was well equipped and one of the larger ones we have seen in backpackers accomodations. Laid-back atmosphere. Large communal dining and lounge areas. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was pretty good - quite close to local Pak'n'Save (supermarket). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Good location, was quite at night great for good sleep only problem very dirty and old. If it had a refurb it would make such a difference. The blankets and pillows were unpleasant and there was a smell to the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murbikiss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is good, has good size fridges. But it does need to update the kitchen wear. It's all a bit broken. There aren't enough bowls so in the morning everyone is fighting for them.

They have really good wifi. one of the best we had. the guys on reception are really nice and helpful.

The rooms are nice, but it is noisy with all the selfish people banging the bedroom doors down the corridor.

good location, a bit of a walk into town, but it is do-able.

Huka prawn park is a must. Go early, you will be surprised how addicted you get to it and you'll want to stay all day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Rainbow lodge was the dirtiest place we've ever stayed in. We had a twin room. The walls were sticky, my sheets had a crusty patch on them (which I didn't discover til 5am!) the glass lightshade was broken with the bits of broken glass put back in the remaining bit of shade, both the sinks in the ladies toilets had so much scum on them, you could write your name in it ( not that you'd want to touch it with your bare hands), and to give the place a grotty finish, the rubbish bins were lined with old news paper. Others reviewers seem to have had a better experience, but I can't say we would ever set foot in the place again.

Room Tip: don't stay here if you like cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjrussell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Had a great experience staying here right from the moment we checked in. The owner, Ross, was extremely friendly and helpful in recommending where to eat and what to do around Taupo.
We hired two mountain bikes from here for a very reasonable price to take the mountain bike track to Huka Falls which was fantastic (but tiring!).
We had a double room with ensuite which was far better than I anticipated. It was clean, modern, very comfortable and one of the few places we stayed at that had a TV in the room.
The kitchen was huge and very clean, couldn't ask for anything more really.
The only downside is that it's not as close to town as some of the other backpacker places but it's well worth the extra 5/10 minute walk to get to this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyWhite71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#43 of 69 in Taupo
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#16 of 34 in Taupo
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing