We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bzzzz”
Review of Huka Honey Hive

Huka Honey Hive
Ranked #3 of 8 Shopping in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FREE ENTRY into New Zealand's largest showcase of honey products. Enjoy free tastings of honey, mead, liqueurs and fruit wine while you explore. Immerse yourself in all things honey with live beehive viewing, interactive displays, wellness products, divine honey based skincare and gourmet honey icecream.Our friendly, knowledgeable team look forward to welcoming you to our special place. Open 7 days. A complete honey experience.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bzzzz”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A great place to stop and learn about bees! There were a lot of free samples to try, including: honey, wines, liqueurs and relishes. You can also have an up close look at the bees in their indoor hives.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ATrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    106
    34
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just another shop really”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The shop was ok, and nice to be able to try things before you buy. However it really was just another shop and not worth a special trip. Tie it in with visiting something else in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FleurP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A surprisingly great fact-filled spot”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

When my fiancé and I walked in to the Honey Hive, we were a little taken aback. It was just a big shop. However we were soon directed to the bee enclosures on the side. It was here that the fun began. Surrounding the glass cases of bee hives were fact sheets and interactive computers telling us everything we needed to know about bees. A little further on was a TV displaying a quite old documentary on bees. We must have sat watching for half hour. It was so interesting. My mind was officially blown. Bees are amazing!

After tearing ourselves away from the TV, we tried some mead wine. It was very sweet. I don't know if I could drink it more than once. It was a lot like port or sherry. It was interesting to taste the different varieties though. We then tested the honey. There were also many varieties and flavours. The best thing was it was all free to try. The staff were very friendly and informative.

Check this place out. It's well worth it. Just for the lessons on the bee way of life.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

alot of variety and different samples to taste - honey wine - even cosmetics. These intereative activites as well as an educational movie to watch. Also have a cafe there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 0p3n_m1nd3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great free place for a rainy day”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a great place to drop into as you drive by or when it rains. Its a large souvenir shop with great Bee information and hands-on activities. A good place to visit for a coffee and cake.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tessie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Honey Hive also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Honey Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing