We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant among the best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2011

MILLENIUM RESTAURANT—NATHANIEL/WAITER—TAUPO, NZ
We enjoyed our best meal of our 5-week New Zealand at the Millenium/Edgewater Resort in Taupo. Our waiter, Nathaniel, was charming and provided the finest service we encountered during our NZ travels. He is a remarkable young man.

We did not stay at the Resort. We were referred to the Millenium by Anne Velvin, our B&B host.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiahenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 621 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2011

I must say this is the best I have stayed in, it is true hotel quality without the overpriced accomadtion rates. Houskeeping is second to none and I hope the housekeeping staff get to read this because they do deserve accolades. The in house bar is like sitting in a Sean Connery movie lovely comfortable armchairs and sofas and no Big TV Sports chanel blaring at you.. Fantastic..!!! My wife and I did sample the restaraunt on our 3 night stay only once (as we like to sample the local food also) and it was great, from service to food and in all honesty the prices for the quality you are presented with are in fact very reasonable when compared to the other local restaraunts.. Would we stay there again? .. Definitely..!!!! Without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soldier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel hands-down was one of the best I have ever stayed in, even if it has been in Taupo for a few decades now. I first stayed there as a child and had the time of my life in that wonderful Grotto plunge pool and to return there and enjoy Manuels as an adult was scintillating and really enjoyable. The service is without question very good and the interior design flowed well with the architecture of the building. I felt really relaxed the whole time and the pool setting could be anywhere in the world, the way the pool courtyard is closed off quite privately to the main road and the beach. I will be returning at some stage in the future as it is a fascinating, worthwhile experience to stay here on a beautiful summer's evening overlooking the sparkling waters of Lake Taupo. If you are on a mid-range budget, don't go past this place, the location surpasses most other hotels in Taupo and I would rate it first among equals.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fields_of_gold_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel definitly has a lake view, it couldnt be closer to the lake or have better views. The hotel was helpful in arranging activites and booking restuarants for us. Otherwise the hotel and location were only average.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in my travels around New Zealand. All facilities at the hotel are in excellent condition. Decor in rooms are five star, grounds ate in immaulate condition. The heated swimming pool is an excellent touch and the thermal grotto cave pool is fantastic. Staff are very friendly and efficient - on check in I was shown to my room by a staff member who showed me how all the facilities in the room worked - a nice touch. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The location of the hotel is about 3mins drive from the main town area which we didnt mind, little more quiet that way.

The hotel is right on the lake which is beautiful, the resturant was good and i couldnt fault the buffet breakfast.

The room itself was a little out dated but still clean and fine for one night. We had a Queen lake view room which was on the second level which was good.

Friendly staff, held our bags for almost a whole day which was nice.

Wouldnt stay there for longer than 2 nights but overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDEAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is located right on the waterfront with only the bike/walking/running path between our room's patio and the water. I loved the fact that we weren't right in the middle of town - especially during the busy summer season. We walked the mile or so to town along the bike path for shopping, site seeing and other activities, and swam in the lake just 50 feet from our patio. Excellent location for runners/walkers and open water swimmers (the pool is too short for lap swimming)!
We enjoyed some of the pubs in town, but returned for meals to the hotel's excellent Edgewater Restaurant. Great service, great food, and great sunset views. There is a small convenience store/gas station about one block away for sodas (no beer!!) and snacks.
The only (minor) grievances are that the room was a bit small and the air conditioning in the restaurant and bar was not adequate (and I enjoy hot weather!).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $144 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing