We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, lakefront location away from the hectic pace and traffic of the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing, lakefront location away from the hectic pace and traffic of the city center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is located right on the waterfront with only the bike/walking/running path between our room's patio and the water. I loved the fact that we weren't right in the middle of town - especially during the busy summer season. We walked the mile or so to town along the bike path for shopping, site seeing and other activities, and swam in the lake just 50 feet from our patio. Excellent location for runners/walkers and open water swimmers (the pool is too short for lap swimming)!
We enjoyed some of the pubs in town, but returned for meals to the hotel's excellent Edgewater Restaurant. Great service, great food, and great sunset views. There is a small convenience store/gas station about one block away for sodas (no beer!!) and snacks.
The only (minor) grievances are that the room was a bit small and the air conditioning in the restaurant and bar was not adequate (and I enjoy hot weather!).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    192
    59
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
360
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Great location and views being right on the edge of the lake, however the room was looking a bit worn and quite small. Also very poor air-con.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol U.K
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Best service and location. A male staff arranged the tandem skydiving with full concern until done.also had best breakfast in town at friends restaurent where rob was real fun guy. Our stay in lake taupo area was well worth

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Suite offers plenty of amenities and waterfront location is super. Was very happy with thus room, and all service we received was solid.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crouchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

A great location with stunning views of the lake directly on the waters edge. Rooms are being refurbished and look like they will have LCD TVs etc but existing rooms have age old cathode ray tube TVs. Although looks like a motel having only two floors, the superior rooms are large, airy and have a larger balcony than the standard rooms.
The downside is breakfast, which is overpriced and poor in quality - tasteless scrambled eggs, no offer of alternate eggs, mainly tinned fruit, coffee which tasted suspiciously of instant (with no offer of it being topped up), and the piece de resistance - butter and margarine blend spread tubs - neither butter or healthy spread on display - a request for butter did result in a couple of individual tubs being produced from the kitchen - but it was clearly not delivered graciously. There are plenty of cafes in Taupo where you can get a freshly cooked breakfast, eggs as you want, butter etc with decent refilled coffee for a fraction of the cost. So a decent enough place to stay but not to eat

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlyoung759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Valued Guest
It is very upsetting to read of your disappointment and I am sorry we were not able to rectify this experience during your stay. Normally we have only good reports about our friendly breakfast service and food quality so I am surprised to read to the contrary.
I do not understand how or why it was like this for you and have to put it down to bad service on this particular morning. It is standard for us to have a selection of seasonal fresh fruit on a large platter as well as the popular preserved fruits, we always have eggs cooked to your choice available and it is never instant coffee - bottomless cup filter coffee is served as well as barista coffe available by request. i can only apologise and assure you the matter is being taken seriously.
Thank you and regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed here while traveling from Wellington to Auckland and was pleasantly surprised.

I got a nice room with a (small) balcony that had a great view of the lake. Waking up and looking out of the window to see a beautiful sunrise is always nice.

The room was comfortable and roomy and had everything that can be expected, although the seating could be a little better.

I also liked that they have a nice, but small, gym and a heated swimming pool. Too bad the sauna isn't included.

I didn't have dinner in in the restaurant, but the breakfast was good.

A place I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear valued guests, thank you very much for your kind words. Yes we are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location for 'sunrise' and even better for magnificent sunsets over the water - having had many lately with all of this beautiful weather.
I am not sure why the sauna was not included for you, as it is normally is, I am wondering if it was a recent time when the element was being replaced? I can advise you it is going very 'hotly' now for your next visit.
Cheers Diane (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Well,the hotel is nice with rooms and amenities, the worst part is the housekeeping staff who are thieves.Me and my wife went for an overnight stay and the next morning when we were having breakfast downstairs, one of the 2 housekeeping ladies entered the room and stole my cell - Nokia E63. There was some petty cash,camera and wife's cell was on the same table.Nothing was stolen apart from my cell.The point to be noted was that we did not put any tags for any of the staff to enter and clean our room as we were to depart after breakfast. Lodged a police complaint (in order to block the cell) and complained in writing via email and received a reply from the Manager that they are looking into this and its more than 10 days now and haven't got any reply inspite of proactively offering to attach and send a copy of the police complaint report.

I have travelled many other Asian cities where poverty exists, but nothing has been stolen from the room. Visit to this hotel was a disaster and would not recommend it to anyone. Any comments on this is awaited.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biasa2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Firstly I am extremely shocked and disappointed with this being published on Trips.
Dear Guest, this is a very serious accusation of which I seriously object to. Housestaff on duty that morning are long standing, reliable employees. A crime has to be proven and we can not just accuse them of theft because of your report to Police. The Police have contacted us; there are no previous records of complaints or convictions against our employees. We have security cameras in place which are being monitored, should we find any dishonest actions we will most definitely take action. Readers should also be aware that this incidence was not reported to our hotel on the day of your departure, which would have given us the perfect opportunity to deal with the case immediately, even to solve it or defend it hopefully. In our correspondence I did say that I would advise you of any outcome – to this date we do not have one. As our correspondence has previously portrayed, we are extremely sorry about your loss and even more so if we have disnonesty in our workplace.
Sincerely Diane GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing