We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish accommodation + great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stylish accommodation + great food”
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Don't be put off by the 1960 Spanish style facade. Inside is another matter - nearly all the bedrooms and public areas have been totally renovated to an extremely high standard - modern luxury with a traditional feel. Lake views can be enjoyed from most areas. We upgraded to a first floor room for greater privacy as the pathway ran in front of the ground floor. Our room was very large and decorated in muted shades with beautiful linens, soft furnishings and carpets. The room boasted a 42" plasma TV.
There was more than enough storage space and the bathroom was huge with a separate shower and large spa bath - wonderfully soothing after much walking.
The food was was superb and served in relaxing surroundings overlooking the lake.
The meal on Christmas night was five plus courses, each one perfection and not a Christmas turkey in sight. All the staff were friendly, helpful and worked hard to make this a memorable stay.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    196
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
367
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2006

We stayed at the Millenium for 2 nights in November. We had a great room - big, clean, and nicely done, facing the beautiful lake. We were on the ground floor, which wasn't bad, but would try for a second floor room with a balcony if we went again. Ground floor rooms have a lovely place to sit outside, but a public path runs along the lake front so people are always walking by a few feet away - this may not be bad depending on what you want.

The on site restaurant was good - had a great meal, but it felt like they were trying too hard to make it a "fancy" restaurant - good service, but a little over attentive.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Stayed here to celebrate our 25th anniverasary. It was such a nice location right on the lakefront and the rooms were lovely. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming

We sat watching the sun going down and celebrated with champagne then had a nice meal in the hotel. The staff were all really nice and helpful and went out of their way to give advice.

I found this hotel to be one of the nicest in all the hotels visited in NZ.

  • Liked — location, accommodation
  • Tips/Secrets — room on the ground floor.......ducks visited frequently!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

Stayed 4 nights in February. Brilliant location bang on Lake Taupo. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good food. Recommend you try for a first floor as opposed to a ground floor room-better view and more private.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MICKMAT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing