We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a hotel more like a Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not quite a hotel more like a Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is out of town, so you need a car. Its location on the lakeside is fantastic. The staff were helpful, but, there were not a lot of them, and it was supprising to see the desk clerk, also double up as a baggage handler. They did not cater for veggitereans, but dod make an effort and did make up a meal for my wife which was quite nice. Breakfast was mediocre for the standard of the hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Room Tip: No lifts in this two story lodging, but the desk clerk will help. Has an excellent onsite laundry f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JeffOP I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location on the lakefront. This is the main reason we are away from the town centre as this is where the lakedge properties begin, all closer to town are on the other side of the road.
Maybe the location of the car parks with the long low two story building makes it resemble a motel, but I assure you that it stops there, because we do not have self catering, we have beautiful bar, restaurants and conference facilities of a hotel.
Normally there are enough staff to cover duties at different times of day so I can not comment on this - we are a small hotel of 51 rooms maybe it was a quiet night or they had all checked in. We have one passenger lift which must have been the opposite side of the foyer to where you stayed. Always happy to assist with special reuirements such as no stairs diets etc.
Thank you for sharing your experiences. kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    193
    59
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
361
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I only had one night at this fabulous resort. We chose a ground floor room with direct access to outside/lake area. The lake is only a few metres from the door and absolutely superb at sunset. Huge spa bath. Their signature restaurant was wonderful fine dining with atmosphere to match. HOWEVER, the absolute amazing thing about the hotel was the staff!!! I experienced what every international traveller hopes to never happen, when about to go to the airport, I could not find my passport (and I was in Auckland - a 5 hour drive away!). I telephoned the resort and Debbie immediately organised a search of the room and they found my passport. After researching the best avenue to get the passport urgently to Auckland, Debbie worked out it send it with Air NZ Cargo for me. Pete took it to the airport and all was in control. Debbie contacted other hotels to see if they had anyone driving or flying to Auckland, she checked on helicopters going to Auckland and she went totally out of her way to help me. Amazing!!! If you stay there and you have read this, please let them know so that they realise that their actions are actually noticed by other readers as well. Have fun if you go there!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyG2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear JennyG2230 - More than anything, I am happy to hear that you were able to travel without any extra added stress after this. You are right, it is the dreaded fear of not having your passport when you are about to leave - panic comes to mind. Debbie and Pete are the best always, and your praises will not go unheard - thank you so much for taking the time to share this. Hopefully we will have the chance of welcoming you back in future. Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were upgraded to superior room which was very spacious, perfect for our 3 night stay. The hotel is right on the lake and the view is spectacular. It was very hot when we were there so we didn't spend too much time on the lovely balcony, but the A/C coped very well, keeping the room comfortable whenever we were there. It's a lovely walk into the town along the lake edge, so no need to use the car if you don't want to.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view, and a superior room if you're there a few days or more to get the extra spac...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear GordonHeather - pleased to hear thea you enjoyed your stay with us and also experienced our lovely summer. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and we will see you again in the future. Thank you for sharing with readers. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Positioned right on the lake front and only a short drive to town. Room is comfortable but would only do max of 3 nights as rooms are only relatively small. Facilities are good, especially the heated pool. The grotto pool is definitely something different as well. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of things to have. Have wi fi however only free if you are in the bar area. Quite good thinking on someone's behalf. Is only free for 30 min as well. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Regan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Regan B - thank you for your feedback - I am pleased to be able to confirm that WIFI is on the improve, as next week we have extra installations in place to enable ALL guest rooms to receive the signal that has only completely had the cover in lounge area - actually, now that you mention it, possibly was a good idea for a drink while you work !! seriously though that was not the intention, fact was the strongest wireless acces points are around the conference venues upstairs to the lounge and bar. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Yes the view across the lake is beautiful, the beds are comfortable and our room (superior lakeview) fairly spacious. A definite plus was that the beds were made up with sheets and blankets and therefore adjustable rather than the ubiquitous duvets which can so often be too hot. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did find our bathroom rather basic for a hotel of this quality; in particular, the shower was small and with only a fixed head. However we were told that bathrooms are being refurbished. Our room did not have a safe which I would have expected.

The swimming pool is small.

While facing west does can give you spectacular views, the sun pours directly into the bedrooms in the afternoon. With closed curtains the air conditioning coped well, though. A bigger problem with the sun was eating in the dining room in the evening. Despite the best efforts of the staff in managing the blinds the sun was in our eyes for some of the time. Still the view the rest of the time makes up for this.

We ate twice in the Edgewater restaurant. Generally the food was very good although one or two of the dishes had some food combinations we did not feel worked very well and some desserts were tasteless (possibly as they were served very chilled). The second night we were there the restaurant was rather full and service suffered with some long waits and some undercooked lamb for my husband (a pity as I had had the same dish the previous evening when it was excellent). This was a Saturday so we felt the hotel should have been geared up for a fullish restaurant particularly as a number of parties eating seemed to be regular visitors.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special.

Overall a positive experience despite the issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Rowan60- I appreciate your positive comments and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location (despite the bright sun) and our staff.
Yes we have had the most amazing clear sunny skies and those magnificent sunsets are a real joy to experience. It is the plan to change showers to the slide detachable ones as we upgrade - thank you for that feed back.
I am sorry to hear about the lamb and have passed on your comments to chef and restaurant manager for consideration and improvement. I do hope you enjoyed your time in NZ and that we have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Before leaving Auckland on Friday afternoon, I phoned the hotel to book a room. Brad, on the front desk, was very helpful - good price, lake-front room, all arranged in a couple of minutes. They still had my records from the last time I'd stayed - about 8 years ago!

We arrived about 7pm and the whole experience beat our expectations. Brad was still on duty - checked us in, gave us a room upgrade and opened the room for us. What a fabulous view out over the lake, towards the late afternoon sun!

The real surprise, though, was the hotel's Edgewater Restaurant (what else could you call it, 5 metres from the lake - see the photo?). We booked for 8pm and, after a pre-dinner drink in the sun on the terrace, were well looked after by Nathaniel, who was happy to make recommendations from the menu (a nice change from "Ooh, it depends what you like..." or "I don't really know - it's my first night."), and Lynda (originally from Liverpool), who really knows her wines!

The lamb rack was one of the best I've had, ever, and my wife was thrilled with her choice of pan-fried fresh tarakihi (impressive since Taupo is about as far from the ocean as you can get!), accompanied respectively by - perhaps one too many glasses of - Otago Pinot Noir and a dry Chardonnay. This restaurant would hold its head up in any city.

We'd looked at previous reviews, so were careful to ask for a lake-view room. Noise was no problem and yes, the room was hot when we arrived. But the air conditioning soon corrected it.

We didn't have the chance to use the spa bath, but that's just one reason for going back - the perfect place to stop for a night or two, if you're travelling through the North Island.

Room Tip: 1. Lake-front is a must - for the view and to avoid road noise. 2. At busy times, an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Richard W - what a wonderful experience to share with us and readers, thank you so much for taking this time to express. Our location speaks for itself, views and location that we never tire of, we are so lucky to work with this. We pride ourselves with happy friendly staff and I will most definitely pass on your praises to Brad, Nathaniel, Lynda and Chef - they will feel very special I know. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - best wishes - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Made a night before booking..... the reservations gentleman was extremely helpful and polite.. very impressed!

Had passed by this hotel many times and have to say was never that impressed visually... however inside is a different story .. its lovely! Really nicely furbished and very comfortable. Had a great lake and mountain view, comfy beds, very clean room and bathroom.... couldn't have been any better. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FernsTours - I am so pleased that you did stay with us to realize what fabulous location and facilities we have. Thank you for sharing this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing