We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, comfortable but some minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely view, comfortable but some minor issues”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Yes the view across the lake is beautiful, the beds are comfortable and our room (superior lakeview) fairly spacious. A definite plus was that the beds were made up with sheets and blankets and therefore adjustable rather than the ubiquitous duvets which can so often be too hot. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did find our bathroom rather basic for a hotel of this quality; in particular, the shower was small and with only a fixed head. However we were told that bathrooms are being refurbished. Our room did not have a safe which I would have expected.

The swimming pool is small.

While facing west does can give you spectacular views, the sun pours directly into the bedrooms in the afternoon. With closed curtains the air conditioning coped well, though. A bigger problem with the sun was eating in the dining room in the evening. Despite the best efforts of the staff in managing the blinds the sun was in our eyes for some of the time. Still the view the rest of the time makes up for this.

We ate twice in the Edgewater restaurant. Generally the food was very good although one or two of the dishes had some food combinations we did not feel worked very well and some desserts were tasteless (possibly as they were served very chilled). The second night we were there the restaurant was rather full and service suffered with some long waits and some undercooked lamb for my husband (a pity as I had had the same dish the previous evening when it was excellent). This was a Saturday so we felt the hotel should have been geared up for a fullish restaurant particularly as a number of parties eating seemed to be regular visitors.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special.

Overall a positive experience despite the issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Rowan60- I appreciate your positive comments and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location (despite the bright sun) and our staff.
Yes we have had the most amazing clear sunny skies and those magnificent sunsets are a real joy to experience. It is the plan to change showers to the slide detachable ones as we upgrade - thank you for that feed back.
I am sorry to hear about the lamb and have passed on your comments to chef and restaurant manager for consideration and improvement. I do hope you enjoyed your time in NZ and that we have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    199
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
77
374
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Before leaving Auckland on Friday afternoon, I phoned the hotel to book a room. Brad, on the front desk, was very helpful - good price, lake-front room, all arranged in a couple of minutes. They still had my records from the last time I'd stayed - about 8 years ago!

We arrived about 7pm and the whole experience beat our expectations. Brad was still on duty - checked us in, gave us a room upgrade and opened the room for us. What a fabulous view out over the lake, towards the late afternoon sun!

The real surprise, though, was the hotel's Edgewater Restaurant (what else could you call it, 5 metres from the lake - see the photo?). We booked for 8pm and, after a pre-dinner drink in the sun on the terrace, were well looked after by Nathaniel, who was happy to make recommendations from the menu (a nice change from "Ooh, it depends what you like..." or "I don't really know - it's my first night."), and Lynda (originally from Liverpool), who really knows her wines!

The lamb rack was one of the best I've had, ever, and my wife was thrilled with her choice of pan-fried fresh tarakihi (impressive since Taupo is about as far from the ocean as you can get!), accompanied respectively by - perhaps one too many glasses of - Otago Pinot Noir and a dry Chardonnay. This restaurant would hold its head up in any city.

We'd looked at previous reviews, so were careful to ask for a lake-view room. Noise was no problem and yes, the room was hot when we arrived. But the air conditioning soon corrected it.

We didn't have the chance to use the spa bath, but that's just one reason for going back - the perfect place to stop for a night or two, if you're travelling through the North Island.

Room Tip: 1. Lake-front is a must - for the view and to avoid road noise. 2. At busy times, an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Richard W - what a wonderful experience to share with us and readers, thank you so much for taking this time to express. Our location speaks for itself, views and location that we never tire of, we are so lucky to work with this. We pride ourselves with happy friendly staff and I will most definitely pass on your praises to Brad, Nathaniel, Lynda and Chef - they will feel very special I know. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - best wishes - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Made a night before booking..... the reservations gentleman was extremely helpful and polite.. very impressed!

Had passed by this hotel many times and have to say was never that impressed visually... however inside is a different story .. its lovely! Really nicely furbished and very comfortable. Had a great lake and mountain view, comfy beds, very clean room and bathroom.... couldn't have been any better. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FernsTours - I am so pleased that you did stay with us to realize what fabulous location and facilities we have. Thank you for sharing this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a poolside room, which meant no privacy, loud children at 08:00 and people standing right outside the window.
The room was comfortable but the blinds didn't close properly and the lack of privacy made us cut short our stay.
Overpriced for what we got.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
DearShaneH13 - Please accept my sincere apologies about noisey children spoiling your stay, we do try to control pool noise, especially early mornings - hard at times, as it is so exciting for the children I know. We only have 2 of these rooms that open onto pool so I am assuning it was a busy time that you stayed - the lakfront rooms are a fabulous alternative and we are very happy to accommodate requests away from pool noise possibilities. Hope we can welcome you back to this option in the future. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Two night break, chose Taupo to be mid way to both Ruapehu and Rotorua. Millenium hotel gave us a warm welcome, using my first name when speaking with me throughout the check in process, a nice personal touch. Personally Shown to our King Junior Suite which on entry presented beautifully. Our room was spacious, extremely comfortable and stylishly furnished. The very comfortable yet modern couch with room for two made such a nice change from uncomfortable "designer" seating found in most hotels. The king bed was dressed with lovely linens and natural fibre blankets. Not the most luxurious bed comfort wise, felt a little cheap and springy but did not prevent sleep. The bathroom was massive with spa tub. Bathroom did not match plush decor of room, basic white and a bit 90's but was clean with amazing water pressure in shower. Full minibar was appreciated. Robes and slippers provided but missing was an in room safe which is standard at most quality hotels these days. Also missing was in house movies but reception stocks a selection of dvds for that night time movie. The view from our balcony was gorgeous but in the afternoon it was blazingly hot and not somewhere you could sit without a tub of sunscreen, hat, awning and fan with the setting sun right in your face. This also had the unpleasant effect of turning our lovely room into a sauna in the afternoon as the smallish split system cannot cope with the sun and it took till the middle of the night for us to feel cool enough to fall asleep, but then, we do like to sleep in a cool room. The curtains do black out but then you are in a pitch black room with no view in the afternoon. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast were just lovely, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was the usual buffet fare...scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, cereal, juices etc and we enjoyed our breakfasts. There are two lovely restaurants, again, beautiful in decor with waterfront views. We ordered room service and enjoyed this very much. Prices were a little high but NZ is an expensive place in general so we found they were on par with other hotels. We enjoyed our stay, loved the decor, appreciated the warm service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WallisJg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear WallisJg - thank you for sharing your experience with us and Tripadvisor - I will be passing on comments to satff and personally, very pleased to read their praises. Please be assured all other comments are being considered with possible changes for future complete guest satisfaction. Hope to welcome you back to NZ and Taupo in the future - kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A stunning location. Right on the lake and the bedrooms/balconies look right over the lake to the mountains. Beautiful. Service was friendly and our room comfortable. A lovely spot. Just three negatives. Firstly it is a fair (approximately 45 minute) walk into Taupo so quite a long way to go for dinner. Secondly the breakfast buffet at the hotel was expensive and pretty poor. We should have gone into Taupo to eat instead. Thirdly free WiFi was limited to 30 minutes per day. Overall a good place to use as a base to explore the area though.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room upstairs - more secure than the ground floor and better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear LondonRob1961 - I am pleased that you found our location and views enjoyable - hopefully witnessed one of our magnificent sunsets as well, we have had many over this summer period. Yes we do recommend the easy quick drive or a taxi into town centre unless someone wants to do the scenic walk for fitness. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy breakfast - it is not usually poor by selection at all and i will investigat this matter. Free internet connection is improving as we move from expensive contract agreements to more flexible internet and wifi arrangements, hopefully in the very near future.Thank you for your comments - kind regards - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Taupo for two nights and were very pleased about our experience in the Millenium Hotel. The staff was very helpful, hotel is clean and well maintained and the view of the lake from the restaurant is unbeatable. You will probably need a car to drive to Taupo (5-10 mins drive), but in exchange you will stay in a more quiet area away from all tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom101cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear tom101cz - happy to read that you enjoyed your time and our services at our hotel - as you say away from the town but still very easy driving along the lakefront or approx 30 min walk for the fit (possibly a little hot in all of the beautiful sunshine we are having right now) Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing