We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with stunning location on lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hotel with stunning location on lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A stunning location. Right on the lake and the bedrooms/balconies look right over the lake to the mountains. Beautiful. Service was friendly and our room comfortable. A lovely spot. Just three negatives. Firstly it is a fair (approximately 45 minute) walk into Taupo so quite a long way to go for dinner. Secondly the breakfast buffet at the hotel was expensive and pretty poor. We should have gone into Taupo to eat instead. Thirdly free WiFi was limited to 30 minutes per day. Overall a good place to use as a base to explore the area though.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room upstairs - more secure than the ground floor and better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear LondonRob1961 - I am pleased that you found our location and views enjoyable - hopefully witnessed one of our magnificent sunsets as well, we have had many over this summer period. Yes we do recommend the easy quick drive or a taxi into town centre unless someone wants to do the scenic walk for fitness. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy breakfast - it is not usually poor by selection at all and i will investigat this matter. Free internet connection is improving as we move from expensive contract agreements to more flexible internet and wifi arrangements, hopefully in the very near future.Thank you for your comments - kind regards - Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    193
    59
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
361
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Taupo for two nights and were very pleased about our experience in the Millenium Hotel. The staff was very helpful, hotel is clean and well maintained and the view of the lake from the restaurant is unbeatable. You will probably need a car to drive to Taupo (5-10 mins drive), but in exchange you will stay in a more quiet area away from all tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom101cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear tom101cz - happy to read that you enjoyed your time and our services at our hotel - as you say away from the town but still very easy driving along the lakefront or approx 30 min walk for the fit (possibly a little hot in all of the beautiful sunshine we are having right now) Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We live in Rotorua and are in the Tourism industry. The only way for us to take time off is actually leave town which we did. I booked direct and although not cheap we really enjoyed our two nights. We ate there at night. Great food and staff. The pool was awesome and a lovely temperature. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Fiona - I am so pleased to read that we were able to treat you for your break away . I appreciate what you say about just getting out of town - often go to Rotorua and feel the break as soon as I get on that lovely easy drive between us. Love to welcome you back again as a return industry guest as well. Cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

For the second year in a row my three kids and I stayed at the Millinnium and once again we had a lovely few nights here. The Hotel is very comfortable and the rooms (and whole hotel) have a really nice feel to them. We turned up "out of the blue" and the counter staff went the extra mile to find us a suitable room which ended up being directly next to the pool which pleased my kids a lot! A great Hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigalaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Kiwigalaxie -thank you for sharing your return visit experience with us and readers - always a pleasure to read and I will pass on to staff. please feel welcome to request your favourite room types for your return visits. kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I booked the room online, I found it very easy and the staff were ever so accommodating with my requests in ordering roses, they rang me to confirm the price and ensured they'd arrive before my check-in. My partner was obviously surprised and loved it! Perfect weekend away and we were blessed with a beautiful sunset! Definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear 8882013 - I am very pleased to read of your experience - we love taking care of romantic treats and happy that everything went so well for you - maybe another surprise next visit!! we have been having so many AMAZING sunsets this year, they certainly are a treat for the heart and sole. - best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Absolute lakefront provided great views, lovely sheltered pool, room had all that we could need. The casual lunch on the terrace was outstanding, made the better by thoughtful attentive staff who offered to find an umbrella when the sun came out. We could have spent the whole afternoon there very happily.. The public lounge bar is also outstanding comfy and stylish chairs with that wonderful view of the lake and mountains.Extra pleased when I phoned a couple of days after having moved on to see if I had left a brand new jacket there, the receptionist immediately knew that I had, and it arrived back in Australia by post less than a week later. Very impressive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear SteveR - thank you for taking the time to write your praises of our wonderful staff - I will pass it on to all. so pleased you managed to experience our magical setting and facilities - we are indeed lucky to have such a lovely place to work in. Hope to welcome you back in the future - I love your Adelaide also. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We don't know what the other options are like but it is hard to imagine much better than a second floor, lake front room here. Great afternoon sun watching the wildlife and the room we had was quiet, well appointed and completely adequate. Loved the jacuzzi tub for two! The dining is good quality and, if you like to walk as we do, there are good, even great restaurants within walking distance on a great walkway all along the lake to town. We were here for three nights to play golf and really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear AnnandBob, I am very happy to read of your enjoyment during your stay with us. We continue to have the most fabulous days and magical sunsets making it very special for our visitors. I hope you also enjoyed our wonderful golf options we are spoilt for choice and easy to spend a week golfing in this area.Hopefully you will be able to return in the future. Cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing