We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$172
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$170
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$109
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$97
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveler rating
372
253
69
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
253
69
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrotto spaedgewater restaurantfirst floorthe ground floornew zealandlake edgelakeside locationwalking tracklake view roomlovely hotelswimming poolblack swanslovely roomupstairs roomjunior suitebuffet breakfastglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 716 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Two part review: 1. the room and 2. the restaurant.
1.The room. Excellent service upon arrival. Room with a balcony overlooking Lake Taupo. Silly tv cabinet that makes moving around a little difficult - these days you would get rid of it and mount a flat screen tv on the wall. Bed not very comfortable and the pillows had no support (worst pillows we have ever had).
2. The restaurant. The food was very good but the evening service was a joke. As my wife said they needed discipline, training and systems. The two restaurants were NOT busy so there was no excuse for the list of minor disasters. The fundamental problems were there were too many people dealing with us instead of having one person focus on giving us a good experience and staff did not do what they said they would do. Within minutes of sitting down a middle-aged woman working in the bar walked through our part of the restaurant and shrieked out loud! Why? She came around the tables and apologised but why would you shout out??? Our entrees took AGES to arrive. A man in the table next to us asked for his steak to be done medium but it came out very rare (still mooing). It was sent back and the chef got his/her revenge as it came back chewy. They ate quickly and walked out. A young man (the 4th who had dealt with us) delivered my steak, noticed I did not have a steak knife,said he would get one and never returned. I had to go hunting for one. Usually retaurants change the cutlery after the order is made but not here. We had ordered 2 salads but neither arrived. We spoke to the waitress and ONE arrived. I had to get up again and go hunting for the second salad. We ate elsewhere for our second night.

Room Tip: Good place if you can get a discount deal.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitram54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear guest - thank you sincerely for taking the time to advise us of your experience, thus enabling us to continue to improve and correct our services. Complaints of this nature are not what we want to hear, honestly, not what we are accustomed to, and I am genually sorry that we dissappointed you during your stay. Please be assured that staff and systems have been addressed and improved immediatially to prevent any such reoccurance. I am also happy to advise that other guests you refer to did leave us with all matters resolved.
Appreciate your comments re TV and can advise you that this matter has been considered for some time now - we have recently installed 42 inch TVs in all of our premium rooms and suites at the hotel and the Queen studios are planned to be done in the near future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Millenium for one night and enjoyed our stay. The views from every bedroom are very good as each room looks out over Lake Taupo and the mountains. Upstairs rooms are better because you get more privacy. The restaurant staff were the best. They looked after us very well and were friendly and professional. Decor was beginning to date but still fine. My husband had been to the Millenium a few weeks previous for a business conference and said that they are particularly good at doing conferences.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank WilsonsofPirongia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Valued Guest - really appreciate you positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful views we are so lucky to have. we are continually updating so please keep checking for these changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed there for a night, last minute reservation.
We got a package included breakfast, i think it was a little expensive...
Very nice big bed but had some stain on the sheet.... the bathroom was small and shower very tiny for a hotel like that, you expect something over the top! Big screen tv !
The restaurant on side The Edge Water is a MUST, the food was just amazing.
The buffert breakfast was very nice too. we sitted faced the lake. The food was good, lot of variety and table was set up perfectly!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We toured the North Island of New Zealand for two weeks and arrived from Rotorua. This hotel room was like a dream, with a patio facing the lake. We liked it so much, just sitting outside, enjoying the sun. I even jumped in the lake for a swim. Staff were also friendly and welcoming.
I would stay at the Millenium Hotel in Taupo again if we go to New Zealand. I highly recommend this hotel as it is a feel good place. It is worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Review019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Yes we went at the right time of year,late Jan, but still believe it would be wonderful any time of the year. Room was peaceful, comfy and very spacious, staff were so friendly and helpful, food lovely, and the heated pool was sublime!!
Loved it so much we are hopefully going back for at least 4 days next year.

Room Tip: gat a downstairs room to be able to feed the swans
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank oldhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews