We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Procrastinated as to whether to spend the extra money on a lake view room - which we did and did not regret it. Were just about to check into the Hilton and pay more before we checked this place out ...right on the waters edge ..unlike Hilton.

Exceptional service. Stunning location. Spacious rooms with spa tubs. Will def be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

If you can get a room on the ground floor overlooking the lake, take it! This is a wonderful place to recharge the batteries. Drink wine on your patio, listen to the lake lapping at your feet, treat yourself to the restaurant then enjoy the sunsets.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186266Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Well worth the drive after visiting Waitomo glowworm caves before driving to Taupo where the hotel is situated on the lake foreshore. We had a beautifully appointed room with balcony overlooking the lake. Dinner was in the elegant restaurant right within the hotel......wonderful food and wine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly_dwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

MILLENIUM RESTAURANT—NATHANIEL/WAITER—TAUPO, NZ
We enjoyed our best meal of our 5-week New Zealand at the Millenium/Edgewater Resort in Taupo. Our waiter, Nathaniel, was charming and provided the finest service we encountered during our NZ travels. He is a remarkable young man.

We did not stay at the Resort. We were referred to the Millenium by Anne Velvin, our B&B host.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiahenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I must say this is the best I have stayed in, it is true hotel quality without the overpriced accomadtion rates. Houskeeping is second to none and I hope the housekeeping staff get to read this because they do deserve accolades. The in house bar is like sitting in a Sean Connery movie lovely comfortable armchairs and sofas and no Big TV Sports chanel blaring at you.. Fantastic..!!! My wife and I did sample the restaraunt on our 3 night stay only once (as we like to sample the local food also) and it was great, from service to food and in all honesty the prices for the quality you are presented with are in fact very reasonable when compared to the other local restaraunts.. Would we stay there again? .. Definitely..!!!! Without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soldier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel hands-down was one of the best I have ever stayed in, even if it has been in Taupo for a few decades now. I first stayed there as a child and had the time of my life in that wonderful Grotto plunge pool and to return there and enjoy Manuels as an adult was scintillating and really enjoyable. The service is without question very good and the interior design flowed well with the architecture of the building. I felt really relaxed the whole time and the pool setting could be anywhere in the world, the way the pool courtyard is closed off quite privately to the main road and the beach. I will be returning at some stage in the future as it is a fascinating, worthwhile experience to stay here on a beautiful summer's evening overlooking the sparkling waters of Lake Taupo. If you are on a mid-range budget, don't go past this place, the location surpasses most other hotels in Taupo and I would rate it first among equals.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fields_of_gold_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel definitly has a lake view, it couldnt be closer to the lake or have better views. The hotel was helpful in arranging activites and booking restuarants for us. Otherwise the hotel and location were only average.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#14 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $139 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing